Heavenly Potatoes and Ham Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2009
This was really tasty! I only had a few small changes. I left the green onions out and substituted Cream of Mushroom for the Cream of Chicken soup because of personal taste, and I used shredded Mild Cheddar+Monterey Jack cheese instead of just Cheddar. Did NOT add salt, but doubled the amount of chopped ham. I didn't have parmesan bread crumbs, so I made my own (following another reviewer's suggestion) by taking regular bread crumbs and mixing them with parmesan cheese and garlic salt. Turned out great! I watched my potatoes VERY carefully so that they were not overcooked when boiling, but in the end it took around 60 minutes in the oven to get them soft but not mushy or too crisp. I'm at around 5000' in altitude, and anything that goes in the oven can wildly vary on cooking time so this wasn't unexpected.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2009
Very good - my family loved it. I did follow the device of those who went before me. I have a large family, so i doubled the recipe, sauted 1 1/2 yellow onions and added at the mixing stage. I also used 2 cans of cream of chicken, and 1 can of cream of mushroom soup. It turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Stockton, California, USA
Living In: Italy, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2009
I have a recipe thats almost identical, only using shredded hash browns,which I prefer.For some reson the large potato chunks just didn't do it for us. The taste was good, we just like the hash browns better..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Max, North Dakota, USA
Living In: Owendale, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2009
This dish has excellent flavor, but as other reviewers mention, it does need more ham. Also, I had trouble getting the potatoes cooked all the way through. Next time I think I will use regular Idaho potatoes and slice them in thin slices rather than cubes. Overall, very good - real comfort food!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2009
i get really excited when i find a recipe that wows me. this one didn't. but we enjoyed it as a large side dish w/our saturday nite dinner and domino game. next time my sister-in law said we should make it our main course and use chicken instead of ham. sounds good to me. thanks for the post.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Vee

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2009
We liked this dish a lot but did not think it was heavenly. I used 4lbs. of potaoes a little smaller than quartered. Cut back just a bit on the butter and upped the ham by an extra cup. I also added a sprinkle of onion powder to the mix for our taste. I will make this again and what I like about it is that for the first meal it can be the main entree and then used as a side the next day because the ham is not overwhelming. Thanks for the good recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CookinArgentina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Aluminé, Neuquén, Argentina
Reviewed: May 13, 2009
I thought this would be more of an entree, but it was more like a side dish. Very tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2009
This receipe is very tasty! I made a few changes like some of the other reviewers did. I used two cans of crm of mushroom soup, cut the amt. of potatoes to 2 1/2 lbs and added more ham than what was called for. The sauce is very good and plenty of it. Next time I make it I think I will cut the potatoes in chunks rather than quarter them. I didn't cook them first, just threw everything all together and it turned out perfect. Also, instead of using green onions, I think using a red or white onion would give it a little more flavor. This is definately a keeper. The whole family loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Terri

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2009
Seriously? 5 lbs of potatoes in a 9x13 pan? NO WAY. I used 2.5 lbs and filled up TWO. That said, this dish is wonderful. We froze the leftovers and can't wait to have it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2009
Followed the most of the directions (I did not use salt) it was quick and easy. Made this for friends and family and they all enjoyed it. I am little more picky I thought it was ok
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by maccordeiro

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Lorenzo, California, USA
Living In: Hayward, California, USA

Displaying results 91-100 (of 459) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Scalloped Potatoes with Ham

Potatoes, Cheddar cheese, and ham simmer slowly in a creamy sauce.

How to Make Ham and Potato Soup

See how to make this hearty and satisfying soup.

Delicious Ham and Potato Soup

See how to make one of our most popular soup recipes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States