Heavenly Potatoes and Ham Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 27, 2014
Yuuuuummm! As a mom of 4 very picky little boys this was a complete hit in my house! It's even better the next day :) will definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2014
I sliced my potatoes, used more seasoning that we like, and crushed garlic croutons for the topping. Family loved it. will be making again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KUJayhawksfan

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Junction City, Kansas, USA
Living In: Chanute, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2014
Making this today since I had all the ingredients on hand, only I'm making it in a crock pot and since I didn't have a full container of sour cream I also used half a block of cream cheese...will post the results but cold it tastes REALLY good, the fresh green onion really elevates it :) great recipe. Ok turned out great in the slow cooker but like another comment said it was literally SWIMMING in butter, I probably have drained off at least half a stick so far, I didn't use the crumb topping either, and it's just a little salty but I love salt all and all VERY tasty :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2014
This was great! I omitted the butter, and used cream of mushroom soup since I was out of cream of chicken. I also omitted the breadcrumbs and just sprinkled parm ontop to make it gluten free.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2014
If I could give this more than 5 stars I would. Delicious casserole and a great way to use up leftover ham after the holidays. I used a small onion, chopped and sautéed it a cit before hand. I also cut up the potatoes into bite size pieces because it was a preference. I didn't put bread crumbs on top because i forgot but I think that would taste great. I served this to my company and we all agreed it is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Swift Current, Saskatchewan, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by rachelg
Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2013
Liked this recipe but did not love it. I would definitely keep the potatoes around 2.5lbs next time. I would also add more green onion and possibly a can of cheddar condensed soup. I added garlic bread croutons and that was a good touch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rachelg

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2013
Really liked this dish. DO NOT add additional salt. I did not add any and it was plenty salty. Will use low sodium soup next time. I added some sauteed mushrooms to it. I also recommend cutting the potatoes a bit smaller, mine seemed a bit too big. Might also add some cooked broccoli next time I make it. This one is easy to customize to your liking. Thanks for a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rapid City, South Dakota, USA
Living In: Atascocita, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2013
This recipe was delicious! Everyone in the family asked for seconds! I do recommend cutting the potatoes into more manageable chunks, but aside from that I followed the recipe to a T and it was a huge hit! Thank you for sharing! I will definitely be making this in the future!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2013
I first made this about 5 yrs ago and it was instantly a favorite; I have made it countless times since. I find it very flexible; I have used several different types of potatoes (red, Russet, Yukon Gold, etc.), and ditto on the onion (red, white, yellow or green) and it has turned out great every time. The red potatoes look prettier, but I go with what I've got! I also cut down on the butter - using no more than 1/2 cup total. This most recent time I decided to make it healthier and swap out 8oz of sour cream for 8oz of plain yogurt (i.e. 1 cup each) and it was hardly noticeable and still delicious. I only had 4lbs of potatoes (it's so creamy I can't imagine cutting back on the quantity of potatoes like some reviewers say, though I could see adding more ham) and decided to add some BROCCOLI in lieu of more potatoes... perfect! Made it truly a one-dish meal. I had about 1.5 lbs of broccoli (before cutting of the stem ends), which I cut into bite-sized pieces and steamed for about 10 mins. To save energy/water/nutrients/dishes (though not time), I then added more water to the pot I had steamed the broccoli in and put the potatoes in the same pot. You can drain the potatoes with your pot lid and add soup, etc. right to the same pot, too. For my family of 3, I can divide this into smaller dishes (two 8x8 dishes, or an 8x8 and a 7x9) and put 1 in the oven and 1 in the freezer. Thaw, add bread crumbs/butter drizzle, and bake for 35-40 mins since it starts out cold. Easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2012
I always look forward to ham leftovers from Christmas and Easter so I can make this. I've even made it as a side dish without the ham because it tastes so much like my mother's delmonico potatoes. It's just as good reheated for breakfast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 455) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Scalloped Potatoes with Ham

Potatoes, Cheddar cheese, and ham simmer slowly in a creamy sauce.

How to Make Ham and Potato Soup

See how to make this hearty and satisfying soup.

Delicious Ham and Potato Soup

See how to make one of our most popular soup recipes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States