Heavenly Potatoes and Ham Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2001
Ever since I first found this recipe on this site 3 years ago, I have made this dish a million times! Huge thing I did notice was that it is very important you use a METAL dish rather than a glass one. Never, ever turned out properly in the glass dish! Use exactly 2.5 lbs of RED potatoes and cut them a bit bigger than diced, bit smaller than quartered, unsalted butter all the way through and if you don't have seasoned breadcrumbs, add parmesan, Italian Seasoning and garlic salt to the plain kind and it'll turn out perfectly. Double your ham, and use extra melted unsalted butter on the crumbs. I have honestly made this for dozens and dozens of people and have yet for a single person to not love it!! Thanks for a wonderful recipe, Terri! PS Also makes great leftovers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
281 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by misskim

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2008
Recipe was fantastic. Everyone loved it. I took some advice of previous reviews and altered it by doubling the ham and only using 2 1/2 lbs yukon gold potatoes along with using 1 can cream of chicken soup and 1 can of cream of mushroom soup. Also used 1 1/2 lbs of cheddar cheese and garlic bread crumbs. I also did not cook the potatoes 1st, just let it cook all together in the oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
154 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ontario, Oregon, USA
Living In: Eugene, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2006
Very, very good. I used the entire 5lbs. of potatoes (minus 2), and I omitted (on accident) the salt and pepper. I salted the water to boil the potatoes, but I completely forgot to season the dish. The next time I make this, I will pepper to taste, but leave out the salt entirely - between the ham, soup, and cheese, it didn't need any (and I general like more salt than most people). I used a pound of deli sliced honey ham, chopped, and it was perfect. The only suggestion I have is to mix everything except the potatoes in a large bowl FIRST, and then combine. It's a very large dish, so it was a little difficult to mix. It was delicious though, and I will definitely make this again. Perfect for a potluck, we had tons of leftovers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
91 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2002
I followed previous reviewer's comments and reduced the amount of potatoes while increasing the amount of ham-great meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
63 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2003
I choose this recipe for my family one night because it met a few requirements. One, it was easy. Two, didn't have a lot of ingredients and Three, didn't take a long time to make. I was satisfied. I took all the other suggestions and made my adjustments. Less potatoes cut in small pieces, more soup, more ham, NO SALT! Everyone in the house loved it. LOVED it. My husband asks for it all the time! I like as well but it is a bit salty even with eliminating the salt which is odd but I am the only one in the family that is a salt-aholic. I can't seem to locate a low salt or no salt Cream of Chix soup but I will see if I can find a low salt ham to use instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
45 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2003
I loved this!!!! I ate every last bite of it over three days (and it is better as leftovers!). My hwdlc (husband who doesn't like casseroles) even ate it. He didn't do summersaults, but he willingly ate it. I used cream of mushroom soup and I think I would always use that instead of cream of chicken. Plus I used more cheese (can you ever have to much cheese?) and did what someone before suggested for the breadcrumbs, used regular breadcrumb and added Parmesan cheese to the crumbs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
44 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Katy, Texas, USA
Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2009
This recipe is a standard for potlucks in our house and everyone loves it. To make it even easier (which I always do) use a package of frozen hashbrowns (thawed)in place of the red potatoes. Then all you have to do is mix everything together, put it in the pan and bake it. Comes out perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2002
Good recipe. I did not have cream of chicken, so I substituted cream of mushroom. I also cut down the butter, it really doesnt need much. Tasted like a big baked potato! Would be great for a potluck dish...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Vallejo, California, USA
Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2003
I followed this recipe closely and would say- less butter! It was literally floating in it. And I cook with vats of butter. Even with that, it's yummy. Note that mine came out about the consistancy of mashed potatoes- and with the butter, a bit runny at that. I would also prefer maybe bacon or smaller (trace) pieces of ham. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2007
Potatoes were excellent everyone loved it. I found the ham oddly out of place, next time I may go with bacon for myown personal taste, I also added some thyme.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Grifo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cragsmoor, New York, USA
Living In: Valrico, Florida, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 455) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Scalloped Potatoes with Ham

Potatoes, Cheddar cheese, and ham simmer slowly in a creamy sauce.

How to Make Ham and Potato Soup

See how to make this hearty and satisfying soup.

Delicious Ham and Potato Soup

See how to make one of our most popular soup recipes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States