Heavenly Potatoes and Ham Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2009
This dish was great! I altered the recipe a little...I didn't use butter, I only used about half the sour cream(since hubby doesnt' like much) and I added about half a cup of half & half. If you like green onions, I'd suggest to add more. The whole family loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2009
Yummy and a real crowd pleaser! I did tweak this as others suggested. Used only 8 oz sour cream, cut potatoes & butter in half to cut fat, and used yellow onion only b/c had no green onion on hand. Sprayed the breadcrumbs w/Pam instead of butter. Made a second 9x13 using celery soup+8oz sour cream and just as good. I don't think I will add butter next time, it didn't need it. Great dish for a potluck, thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2009
I've made this several times - it's so good! I used 1/2 the potatoes called for and doubled the ham. I didn't use any butter (and don't think it would be needed).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Holly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mukwonago, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2009
SOOO good. It's a family favorite! I love that it's simple. I don't even have to measure. I just dump in the ingredients until it looks right. I mix parmesan cheese in with the other ingredients and use italian bread crumbs on top. I also use white onion. For leftovers: Stir in scrambled eggs for breakfast!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2009
Excellent. First time I have tried this recipe and will definitly use it again. Might make a few minor changes just for fun but I highly recommend this recipe as is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2009
very good. I did what everyone else recommended-less potatoes, more soup and ham, added lots of cheddar cheese. It definitely took longer to cook than the recipe states though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2009
This was a pretty good dish. For someone just beginning to live on her own I love finding dishes that are cheap, easy and last for several meals. I played around with this recipe a bit but tried to stay true to the recipe posted. I chose to not cook my potatoes ahead of time, and instead chopped them into medium-small pieces. I cut the potatoes up and put them in the pan until I saw there was enough. I ended up using 3-4 lbs of potatoes. I used a small container of sour cream (about 1 cup) and two cans of cream of chicken. I also added a splash of milk to add up the difference. Instead of bread crumbs I used shake and bake italian seasoning and sprinkled garlic powder and parmesean cheese on top. It took longer to cook about 1 hr and 1/2 and I cooked it at 400 covered until the last half hour. I also took a suggestion from another reviewer to layer the potatoes with cheese and bread crumb. Very good recipes, I will definitly make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2009
Heavy, but my kids loved it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2009
If you don't cook the potatoes before hand, be prepared to cook it longer in the oven. I did it 30 minutes at 350, and they were not done at all, so I cooked it an additional 30 minutes at 400, then they were done. I also added an additional can of soup, doubled the ham, and only did 2.5 lbs of potatoes, which filled up my casserole dish. My husband LOVED it. This makes great leftovers too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2009
I followed the lead of several others and boosted the amount of ham but kept the potatoes the same. (I used a smoked ham but next time I'm using a honey baked instead.) Low on sour cream - I had less than a third of what was called for, I filled out that part of the recipe with ranch dressing. I spooned half the mixture across the bottom of the baking pan, covered that with an extra cup of Monterrey Jack cheese blend and topped that with a mixture of bread crumbs and a tablespoon of Tony Cacheras Cajun seasoning. Then I spooned the rest of the mixture over the top, laid down some more Parmesan over that, drizzled the melted butter and finally topped it off with some crushed (not pulverized) Durkee French fried onions. Heavenly doesn't begin to describe it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:


Displaying results 71-80 (of 455) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Scalloped Potatoes with Ham

Potatoes, Cheddar cheese, and ham simmer slowly in a creamy sauce.

How to Make Ham and Potato Soup

See how to make this hearty and satisfying soup.

Delicious Ham and Potato Soup

See how to make one of our most popular soup recipes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States