Heavenly Potatoes and Ham Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: May 13, 2011
I added some garlic. My topping of bread crumbs didn't get cruchy liked I would have liked. Think I will use less next time. Maybe just a cup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2011
this is a delicious dish! makes lots of leftovers, which is great. don't forget to drain your cooked potatoes before you mash them. I didn't one, and ended up with potato soup. still good, but not what I wanted.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2011
I did a half recipe, as there are just 3 of us here. I substituted cream of mushroom for the chicken soup and (accidentally) added the whole can. Other substitutions were: used leftover garlic mashed potatoes, left out the salt, used Italian-style bread crumbs, cut WAY back on the butter and topped the whole thing with fresh mushrooms. It turned out fantastic! My dad, who never has more than 2 servings, went back for a smaller 3rd serving. It definitely doesn't need added salt (the ham has enough as it is).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2011
I have a very difficult family to please when it comes to dinners. My pickiest eater ate this right up and loved it! I will for sure make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA
Living In: Boise, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2011
Delicious! I followed a reviewer's advice and used half the amount of potatoes but the casserole ended up pretty runny and too buttery. I will try it next time with the correct amount of potatoes. Otherwise the flavor is excellent and would probably be just as good with half the butter called for in the recipe. Only thing I added was some garlic powder.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2011
I was short on time so used another's advice and mixed a bag of frozen hashbrowns instead of pre-boiling potatoes. I felt the dish was easy to make and tasted good - but there was too much butter. It was dripping/oily. Next time I'll cut to 1/4 cup mixed in and possibly less drizzled on top. I used plain panko breadcrumbs and some shredded parmesan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Austin, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2011
As written, I would almost give this 3 stars. I omitted the additional bread crumbs and 1/4 cup butter at the end and even then my family all thought that this was too rich. That said, I did enjoy this and think it would be great with a little less butter in the base and a few more potatoes. I think taking the base with less butter, and less the breadcrumbs and add'l 1/4 cup butter, would be really great paired with scrambled eggs cooked separately. I'll definitely retain this recipe as a base. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2011
We thought this was only ok. I did use only half the potatoes and cut them up in reasonable sizes. I put 2 cups of chopped ham in it, but it definately could've used more. I also think it calls for way too many bread crumbs on top, and an addition of either fresh mushrooms and/or chopped hard-boiled eggs could have improved this dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Orlando, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2011
Cooked this for a large group of people and it went over great! I used about 2 1/2 cups ham and we didn't have bread crumbs so I used garlic parmesan croutons crushed up and added more parmesan cheese. I really liked the crunch from the croutons. Got rave reviews and I will be making it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ashley Marie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2011
I'm giving this two stars because I prepared it as written, and this recipe calls for far too many potatoes. The overall flavor was really good, but I have to agree with other reviewers who suggested cutting the amount of potatoes by 2 lbs or so, and cutting them into smaller pieces. Another complaint that I had was that the casserole did not "set up" well. It was pretty runny. I have a feeling it will be better the next day, which is fine by me because I love leftovers. I may try it again, with fewer potatoes and more ham.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by hbrownlie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jacksonville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 455) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Scalloped Potatoes with Ham

Potatoes, Cheddar cheese, and ham simmer slowly in a creamy sauce.

How to Make Ham and Potato Soup

See how to make this hearty and satisfying soup.

Delicious Ham and Potato Soup

See how to make one of our most popular soup recipes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States