Heavenly Potatoes and Ham Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2012
Definitely going to making this one again. I cut the recipe in half, planning to freeze the leftovers. The hubby brought home a guinea pig, I mean guest for dinner and there was hardly enough left over for my lunch the next day. Oh, and because I had a time crunch, I did the whole thing in the slow cooker. A great, hardy meal ready when we were.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Yucaipa, California, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2012
It came out a little soupy, but everyone seemed to love this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2011
as written, 4 stars but w/tweaks, this is delish! great for potlucks. glad I read the reviews and omitted the butter, and only 2.5 # of potatoes. I am sure they would have been too dry w/the 5#. eyeballed the ham, and used 1 bunch of green onions, no salt. cut my potatoes into thin slices. versatility w/the soup varieties...I used cream of chicken & mushroom(never knew they even made that combo). couldn't find the parmesan crumbs so used plain crumbs w/shredded parmesan. Only used melted butter to drizzle over the topping. thanks for this recipe. very filling and a meal in itself.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TUNISIANSWIFE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: King Ferry, New York, USA
Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2011
I made this for my family last night using leftover ham from Christmas - everyone really enjoyed it although I did change recipe pretty dramatically. First, I sauteed, 1 medium onion, 1 medium carrot, 1 stalk celery and 2 lbs of potatoes in some olive oil. I then combined the soup, sour cream (about 3/4 cup), green onion, cheese, ham, salt & pepper. I added the vegetable mixture, put everything in a casserole dish and baked for 45 minutes after topping with a mixture of garlic, parmesan cheese and bread crumbs (and a drizzle of EVOO). The end result was really tasty, comforting food with a lot less calories given the omission of 1/2 cup of butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kelcampbell

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Smiths Falls, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Kemptville, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2011
Good comfort food recipe and great if you have a lot of leftover ham and need something to do with it. Might add more cheese to it next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Massapequa, New York, USA
Living In: Gray Court, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2011
My family really enjoyed this recipe. I'm adding broccoli to it next time I make it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2011
Wow. I thought this was going to be ho-hum- boy was I wrong. I don't normally change anything the first time I make a recipe. I made an exception here by leaving out the 1/2 cup butter in the filling just to cut down on the saturated fat (I did drizzle some over the bread crumbs). Per other reviewers' advice, I also used 2.5 lbs of potatoes. Other than those 2 things I stuck to the recipe and it was amazing. I truly don't think you'll miss the butter as this recipe is already savory- this is what I would call comfort food.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2011
Oh my goodness, this was GOOD! I ended up doubling the other ingredients but left the potato quantity the same. I covered it with foil to bake; should have uncovered it sooner so that some of the liquid would have evaporated off more...it was a little runny the first evening we had it. But leftovers were perfect! I highly recommend this dish; it will become a fall/winter staple at our house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2011
Yum! Comfort food at its best. I reduced the butter in the casserole itself in half. I used 3/4 cup breadcrumbs, 3/4 cup Parmesan cheese for the topping and it was delicious. 16 year old son ate a TON after football practice!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wauwatosa, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Madison, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2011
Amazing. And that's for a lack of better words!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Anna

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Bethpage, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 460) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Allrecipes Magazine
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Scalloped Potatoes with Ham

Potatoes, Cheddar cheese, and ham simmer slowly in a creamy sauce.

How to Make Ham and Potato Soup

See how to make this hearty and satisfying soup.

Delicious Ham and Potato Soup

See how to make one of our most popular soup recipes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States