Heavenly Potatoes and Ham Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2012
We all loved this! Filling and so tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GuarinoMom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2012
I used the mandolin to slice all five pounds of the potatoes uniformly. I omitted the butter from the mix, I used two bunch of green onions, because that's how they were sold, I used a whole package of OM ham, which was probably at least three cups. I just sprinkled the bread crumbs over the top and drizzed 1T melted butter to help it brown. All of this barely fit into the 9x13 casserole dish and was so dense that it took 45 minutes to bake, plus 20 minutes to set up. The result was fantastic. My husband wasn't a huge fan of the texture of the green onions so I think I'll saute' a diced white onion next time to toss in instead. This is really easy to put together and very tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2012
Finally getting around to rating this! First made it in June 2011 and had added some rosemary at the time, and didn't care for that seasoning choice. Made it again last night with some changes and it was a hit! Used 5-6 well-scrubbed red potatoes, cut into chunks (bite-sized, not diced). Used called-for cream of chicken soup, but I think any "cream of" soup would work well, according to your taste preference. Next time, I'd like to try it with Cheddar cheese soup and drastically reduce the shredded cheese. I seasoned the soup/sour cream mixture with garlic/onion powders, pepper, paprika, parsley, and a hint of Tony Chachere's. I added 1 c shredded sharp cheddar cheese and 1 c of Italian blend. I used a 16oz pkg of diced ham, which made it super easy. Omitted the green onion, as I didn't have it, but would probably add 1/2 a sauteed onion next time. Eyeballed the amount of Italian breadcrumbs (next time I'll use crushed up croutons for more flavor) and just a couple tablespoons of melted butter drizzled on top. Overall, a good, comforting dish that will definitely be made again in this house!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shannon

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Omaha, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Aurora, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2012
Oh my goodness, this was amazing!! My daughter and I were still sneaking bites as we cleared the table. I used about 3 pounds of potatoes, cutting them into large bites before boiling. I used sour cream with chives and left out the green onion. Instead of the bread crumbs, I crumbled butter crackers (Club) over the top and sprinkled with a little Parmesan. This was so easy and will be a new family favorite!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Kasson, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2012
Definitely going to making this one again. I cut the recipe in half, planning to freeze the leftovers. The hubby brought home a guinea pig, I mean guest for dinner and there was hardly enough left over for my lunch the next day. Oh, and because I had a time crunch, I did the whole thing in the slow cooker. A great, hardy meal ready when we were.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Yucaipa, California, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2012
It came out a little soupy, but everyone seemed to love this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2011
as written, 4 stars but w/tweaks, this is delish! great for potlucks. glad I read the reviews and omitted the butter, and only 2.5 # of potatoes. I am sure they would have been too dry w/the 5#. eyeballed the ham, and used 1 bunch of green onions, no salt. cut my potatoes into thin slices. versatility w/the soup varieties...I used cream of chicken & mushroom(never knew they even made that combo). couldn't find the parmesan crumbs so used plain crumbs w/shredded parmesan. Only used melted butter to drizzle over the topping. thanks for this recipe. very filling and a meal in itself.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TUNISIANSWIFE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: King Ferry, New York, USA
Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2011
I made this for my family last night using leftover ham from Christmas - everyone really enjoyed it although I did change recipe pretty dramatically. First, I sauteed, 1 medium onion, 1 medium carrot, 1 stalk celery and 2 lbs of potatoes in some olive oil. I then combined the soup, sour cream (about 3/4 cup), green onion, cheese, ham, salt & pepper. I added the vegetable mixture, put everything in a casserole dish and baked for 45 minutes after topping with a mixture of garlic, parmesan cheese and bread crumbs (and a drizzle of EVOO). The end result was really tasty, comforting food with a lot less calories given the omission of 1/2 cup of butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kelcampbell

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Smiths Falls, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Kemptville, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2011
Good comfort food recipe and great if you have a lot of leftover ham and need something to do with it. Might add more cheese to it next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Massapequa, New York, USA
Living In: Gray Court, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2011
My family really enjoyed this recipe. I'm adding broccoli to it next time I make it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 464) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Back To School Already?
Back To School Already?

Hard to believe, but many kids will be back in school at the end of the month. Get ready.

Cauliflower Recipes
Cauliflower Recipes

You won't believe all the things you can do with cauliflower. It's a great low-carb option.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Scalloped Potatoes with Ham

Potatoes, Cheddar cheese, and ham simmer slowly in a creamy sauce.

How to Make Ham and Potato Soup

See how to make this hearty and satisfying soup.

Delicious Ham and Potato Soup

See how to make one of our most popular soup recipes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States