Heavenly Potatoes and Ham Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2013
Really liked this dish. DO NOT add additional salt. I did not add any and it was plenty salty. Will use low sodium soup next time. I added some sauteed mushrooms to it. I also recommend cutting the potatoes a bit smaller, mine seemed a bit too big. Might also add some cooked broccoli next time I make it. This one is easy to customize to your liking. Thanks for a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rapid City, South Dakota, USA
Living In: Atascocita, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2013
This recipe was delicious! Everyone in the family asked for seconds! I do recommend cutting the potatoes into more manageable chunks, but aside from that I followed the recipe to a T and it was a huge hit! Thank you for sharing! I will definitely be making this in the future!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2013
I first made this about 5 yrs ago and it was instantly a favorite; I have made it countless times since. I find it very flexible; I have used several different types of potatoes (red, Russet, Yukon Gold, etc.), and ditto on the onion (red, white, yellow or green) and it has turned out great every time. The red potatoes look prettier, but I go with what I've got! I also cut down on the butter - using no more than 1/2 cup total. This most recent time I decided to make it healthier and swap out 8oz of sour cream for 8oz of plain yogurt (i.e. 1 cup each) and it was hardly noticeable and still delicious. I only had 4lbs of potatoes (it's so creamy I can't imagine cutting back on the quantity of potatoes like some reviewers say, though I could see adding more ham) and decided to add some BROCCOLI in lieu of more potatoes... perfect! Made it truly a one-dish meal. I had about 1.5 lbs of broccoli (before cutting of the stem ends), which I cut into bite-sized pieces and steamed for about 10 mins. To save energy/water/nutrients/dishes (though not time), I then added more water to the pot I had steamed the broccoli in and put the potatoes in the same pot. You can drain the potatoes with your pot lid and add soup, etc. right to the same pot, too. For my family of 3, I can divide this into smaller dishes (two 8x8 dishes, or an 8x8 and a 7x9) and put 1 in the oven and 1 in the freezer. Thaw, add bread crumbs/butter drizzle, and bake for 35-40 mins since it starts out cold. Easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2012
I always look forward to ham leftovers from Christmas and Easter so I can make this. I've even made it as a side dish without the ham because it tastes so much like my mother's delmonico potatoes. It's just as good reheated for breakfast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2012
This was excellent except for the instructions didn't say to peel the redskin potatoes. I followed it as written but would recommend peeling potatoes or use the frozen hashbrown pototoes to save time. I also used the Kraft Shredded Cheddar w/ a Touch of Philly. It was nice and creamy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2012
We all loved this! Filling and so tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GuarinoMom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2012
I used the mandolin to slice all five pounds of the potatoes uniformly. I omitted the butter from the mix, I used two bunch of green onions, because that's how they were sold, I used a whole package of OM ham, which was probably at least three cups. I just sprinkled the bread crumbs over the top and drizzed 1T melted butter to help it brown. All of this barely fit into the 9x13 casserole dish and was so dense that it took 45 minutes to bake, plus 20 minutes to set up. The result was fantastic. My husband wasn't a huge fan of the texture of the green onions so I think I'll saute' a diced white onion next time to toss in instead. This is really easy to put together and very tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2012
Finally getting around to rating this! First made it in June 2011 and had added some rosemary at the time, and didn't care for that seasoning choice. Made it again last night with some changes and it was a hit! Used 5-6 well-scrubbed red potatoes, cut into chunks (bite-sized, not diced). Used called-for cream of chicken soup, but I think any "cream of" soup would work well, according to your taste preference. Next time, I'd like to try it with Cheddar cheese soup and drastically reduce the shredded cheese. I seasoned the soup/sour cream mixture with garlic/onion powders, pepper, paprika, parsley, and a hint of Tony Chachere's. I added 1 c shredded sharp cheddar cheese and 1 c of Italian blend. I used a 16oz pkg of diced ham, which made it super easy. Omitted the green onion, as I didn't have it, but would probably add 1/2 a sauteed onion next time. Eyeballed the amount of Italian breadcrumbs (next time I'll use crushed up croutons for more flavor) and just a couple tablespoons of melted butter drizzled on top. Overall, a good, comforting dish that will definitely be made again in this house!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shannon

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Omaha, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Aurora, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2012
Oh my goodness, this was amazing!! My daughter and I were still sneaking bites as we cleared the table. I used about 3 pounds of potatoes, cutting them into large bites before boiling. I used sour cream with chives and left out the green onion. Instead of the bread crumbs, I crumbled butter crackers (Club) over the top and sprinkled with a little Parmesan. This was so easy and will be a new family favorite!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Kasson, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2012
Definitely going to making this one again. I cut the recipe in half, planning to freeze the leftovers. The hubby brought home a guinea pig, I mean guest for dinner and there was hardly enough left over for my lunch the next day. Oh, and because I had a time crunch, I did the whole thing in the slow cooker. A great, hardy meal ready when we were.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Yucaipa, California, USA

Displaying results 11-20 (of 459) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Scalloped Potatoes with Ham

Potatoes, Cheddar cheese, and ham simmer slowly in a creamy sauce.

How to Make Ham and Potato Soup

See how to make this hearty and satisfying soup.

Delicious Ham and Potato Soup

See how to make one of our most popular soup recipes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States