Heavenly Potatoes and Ham Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: May 15, 2009
We liked this dish a lot but did not think it was heavenly. I used 4lbs. of potaoes a little smaller than quartered. Cut back just a bit on the butter and upped the ham by an extra cup. I also added a sprinkle of onion powder to the mix for our taste. I will make this again and what I like about it is that for the first meal it can be the main entree and then used as a side the next day because the ham is not overwhelming. Thanks for the good recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CookinArgentina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Aluminé, Neuquén, Argentina
Reviewed: May 13, 2009
I thought this would be more of an entree, but it was more like a side dish. Very tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2009
This receipe is very tasty! I made a few changes like some of the other reviewers did. I used two cans of crm of mushroom soup, cut the amt. of potatoes to 2 1/2 lbs and added more ham than what was called for. The sauce is very good and plenty of it. Next time I make it I think I will cut the potatoes in chunks rather than quarter them. I didn't cook them first, just threw everything all together and it turned out perfect. Also, instead of using green onions, I think using a red or white onion would give it a little more flavor. This is definately a keeper. The whole family loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Terri

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2009
Seriously? 5 lbs of potatoes in a 9x13 pan? NO WAY. I used 2.5 lbs and filled up TWO. That said, this dish is wonderful. We froze the leftovers and can't wait to have it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2009
Followed the most of the directions (I did not use salt) it was quick and easy. Made this for friends and family and they all enjoyed it. I am little more picky I thought it was ok
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by maccordeiro

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Lorenzo, California, USA
Living In: Hayward, California, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2009
This was a fabulous dinner !!! Great comfort food !!! I made this exactly like the recipe was written as I do all recipes that I review. However, when I make it the second time I sometimes change things. The next time I make this I will cut the potatoes in slices rather then cube, I will dice the ham a little smaller, and most definatley add more sour cream on top when I serve the dish. The whole family ate this right up, there was not a drop left for lunch the next day !!! Can't wait to make this again !!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2009
i've made this twice now. Family didn't love it as much as me the first time and I left the bread crumbs off both times. The second time didn't log on and realized I had made before. I followed directions exactly and the par boil time is way off and didn't test anything since I was home making it at lunch. I still thought the recipes was good and hubby said it was fixable again, but alterations needed as the first time. Great possibilities but be a cook and test as you go.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2009
very good, less potatoes and add more ham. Perfect!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Durango, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by homeschooler3
Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2009
This was really good. It reminds me of a potato casserole that I make frequently from our Mennonite cookbook only this has ham in it and is slightly different. I followed the recipe for the most part but cut my potatoes smaller and just watched them closely when boiling so they did not turn to mush. I made my own parmesan flavored bread crumbs. Everyone raved. I will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by homeschooler3

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2009
Very tasty, easy recipe. The only things I would do differently is cut the potatoes into smaller pieces and add more ham!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 454) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Scalloped Potatoes with Ham

Potatoes, Cheddar cheese, and ham simmer slowly in a creamy sauce.

How to Make Ham and Potato Soup

See how to make this hearty and satisfying soup.

Delicious Ham and Potato Soup

See how to make one of our most popular soup recipes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States