Heavenly Lamb Shanks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2006
I enjoyed this recipes as it was very simple and healthy. I used a crockpot instead of my oven and I ended up with very tender vegetables and lamb. I would add a little more salt, but otherwise it was a great meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2007
Heavenly is the right word for it. I was a little conserned at first about all the garlic, but when it was cooked the flavor was so good that i wouldn't change a thing. Thank you very much this will very quickly be come a favorite in our house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2007
certainly is heavenly....Annie from Oz.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2008
I have made this several times now and it has become a family favourite. Great with mashed potato. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs Rasmussen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Townsville, Queensland, Australia

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2008
Made it last year with 12 lamb shanks for a bunch of friends and they loved it so much! Trying this delicious dish again tonight with extra splash of red wine(personal preference!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2009
This was amazing! I didn't have rosemary so I used sage. I cooked these in te crockpot for 8 hours and they were fall off the bone tender. I will definitely make these again when we have shanks again in the spring!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jennkl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Howell, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2009
My mother-in-law and I made this and it was very easy to prepare, and tasted great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Portland, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2009
Very very good. My whole family really liked this. Next time I will use less oil to brown the shanks. I used 3 sprigs of thyme and 3 of rosmarin, but too my shanks were very big. Used many shallot onions in stead of usual onion, came out fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Erin
Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2009
This is the first time I have had lamb I actually liked! We got our shanks from a local organic farmer. The meat was so buttery and tender, it fell off the bone, and the gravy I made with the juices was full of flavor. I roasted the shanks in my Le Creuset, and it turned out perfectly in 3 hours. The only change I made was since it is December and I had no fresh herbs, I used dried Herbes de Provence. I'm sure it would be even better with fresh herbs. Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Erin

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Webster City, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2010
This would have gotten a high review but for one problem. Flavor was just great, however recipe should have stated that juices should be degreased and strained. You may want to pick out the veggies you want to eat also so you don't get the bits of pepper and herbs in sauce. My leeks also disappeared into mush, so it would have been nice to strain it out. Pull out the shanks and veggies you want, strain and degrease the stock, put it all back together to warm up and I think this recipe will be just wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 28) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Saba Braised Lamb Shanks

Succulent, tender lamb shanks braised with a savory Italian secret ingredient.

How to Make Braised Lamb Shanks

Watch Chef John make succulent, fragrant, slightly spicy lamb shanks.

Jinx-Proof Braised Lamb Shanks

See how to make rich, delicious, totally tender lamb shanks.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States