Heavenly Lamb Shanks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2011
The flavor was good, but way too greasy! If I ever make lamb shanks again, I think I will boil them first to get some of the grease out. Update: I did make this again and boiled the lamb shanks first. I drained the water and cut off as much fat as I could. The meat was falling off the bone so I made this into soup. It did take care of the grease problem, however.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2010
This could be a 10 Star recipe. Easy to prepare and oh so........good. Will make this again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2010
This was so good, My husband loved it! Wouldn't change a thing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2010
I should have read all the reviews instead of relying on the star rating. I agree with one of the other reviewers, it should definitely be degreased and all the mushy veg discarded. I had one shank over which I degreased and also slightly thicken the sauce . Much better but still not as flavourful as it should have been.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2010
They truly were heavenly. My lamb was organically raised and this rcipe made it a meal fit fora king. FIVE STARS!!!!!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2010
This was delicious! I was in a hurry so I didn't even sear the shanks. Just threw it in a crock pot and let it cook for 6 hours. Next time I'll add some new potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Selma, Alabama, USA
Living In: Wetumpka, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2010
This would have gotten a high review but for one problem. Flavor was just great, however recipe should have stated that juices should be degreased and strained. You may want to pick out the veggies you want to eat also so you don't get the bits of pepper and herbs in sauce. My leeks also disappeared into mush, so it would have been nice to strain it out. Pull out the shanks and veggies you want, strain and degrease the stock, put it all back together to warm up and I think this recipe will be just wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Erin
Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2009
This is the first time I have had lamb I actually liked! We got our shanks from a local organic farmer. The meat was so buttery and tender, it fell off the bone, and the gravy I made with the juices was full of flavor. I roasted the shanks in my Le Creuset, and it turned out perfectly in 3 hours. The only change I made was since it is December and I had no fresh herbs, I used dried Herbes de Provence. I'm sure it would be even better with fresh herbs. Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Erin

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Webster City, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2009
Very very good. My whole family really liked this. Next time I will use less oil to brown the shanks. I used 3 sprigs of thyme and 3 of rosmarin, but too my shanks were very big. Used many shallot onions in stead of usual onion, came out fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2009
My mother-in-law and I made this and it was very easy to prepare, and tasted great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Portland, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 26) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Saba Braised Lamb Shanks

Succulent, tender lamb shanks braised with a savory Italian secret ingredient.

How to Make Braised Lamb Shanks

Watch Chef John make succulent, fragrant, slightly spicy lamb shanks.

Jinx-Proof Braised Lamb Shanks

See how to make rich, delicious, totally tender lamb shanks.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States