Heavenly Lamb Shanks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2014
This was only ok. I found the gravy bitter. I added a little sugar which helped, but I probably won't make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MMAKOWSKY

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2012
This is the second time I have used this recipe and the family love it.. It is simple to make and tastes devine :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2012
**** This is an excellent recipe. I served it with mashed potatoes and the romaine-cauliflower salad. It was awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2012
This recipe is delicious! So good, we had to make it again this week. We're lucky to have found a butcher that sells lamb shanks at a great price. Can't decide which I like more - with or without the leaks. Either way - we recommend!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HP_imagines

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2012
I used a slow cooker- came out wonderfully, put the leeks in at the end after sauteeing them with garlic. The key is picking the right cut of meat- the calf and the thigh.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Worcester, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2011
Lacks flavour and sauce is not useable direct from the pan
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2011
I'm sorry to say that this one fell a little short for my husband and me. I expected there to be so much more flavor than there was. Yes, the meat was very tender, but I would have liked a little bit of acidity for more depth of flavor, such as balsamic vinegar. If I try this one again, I will have to tweek it a bit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2011
I followed this recipe pretty closely and it came out so, so yummy. My Easter guests raved about it. I added a few tweaks of my own though. First off, When I floured and seared the meat, I added some ground coriander and freshly ground fennel seed to the flour, salt and pepper mix. I also added a large can of organic diced tomatoes to the stewing liquids. Finally, I agree with one reviewer who said it would be too greasy, so I degreased the gravy at the end by removing the cooked meat to a dish, skimmed the top couple inches of the roasting liquid into a foil bread pan, and stuck it in the freezer for about 20 minutes while I mashed the potatoes and cooked the green beans. Once the fat hardened, I just scraped it away from the juices underneath. (I'm glad I did because it was about a cup of fat! ) Then I added the juices back to the pot on the stove top, simmering for a few minutes to heat it back up and thicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2011
Wish I could give this more stars. Absolutely delicious! Didn't change anything. Even my husband who doesn't eat lamb liked it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Brooklyn, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2011
The flavor was good, but way too greasy! If I ever make lamb shanks again, I think I will boil them first to get some of the grease out. Update: I did make this again and boiled the lamb shanks first. I drained the water and cut off as much fat as I could. The meat was falling off the bone so I made this into soup. It did take care of the grease problem, however.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 25) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Saba Braised Lamb Shanks

Succulent, tender lamb shanks braised with a savory Italian secret ingredient.

How to Make Braised Lamb Shanks

Watch Chef John make succulent, fragrant, slightly spicy lamb shanks.

Jinx-Proof Braised Lamb Shanks

See how to make rich, delicious, totally tender lamb shanks.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States