Heavenly Hot Dog Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2014
I changed this to 3 servings since I had 1/2 lb of hamburger to use up. This was not what I expected. It was like taco meat up on a hotdog. I wanted more of a saucey chili sauce but this wasn't it. Sorry, we just didn't care for it. And, it made us burp after.. not a good thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cindy Shivers

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Stockton, California, USA
Living In: Pensacola, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2014
As written I can not give 5 stars :( this recipe NEEDS Tweaking! First off as written is very bland I doubled ALL spices also I diced an onion and green pepper for flavor and As written it turns out VERY dry! I did add more tomato sauce and added beef broth in place of the water.With my changes is a definite 5 star recipe! I would recommend this recipe as a base to make it your own!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by missrochester

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Rochester, New York, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2014
It truly is a great hot dog sauce. I did leave out the red pepper and added a bit more chili powder. It is a Happy Hubby recipe : )
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2014
best hot dog chili ever
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lora

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Aurora, Illinois, USA
Living In: Kingsport, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2014
Way to bland. It would take a lot of extras to get this right. Wolf's Brand hot dog sauce (without beans)is much better. Think I will stick w/ Skyline (Cincinnati chili) for my dogs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dayton, Ohio, USA
Living In: Tallahassee, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2013
really great. used homemade ketchup, honey, and used it on chili dog casserole II. kids top fav
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jeffersonville, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2012
That's it! The first bite reminded me of setting at Yann's counter eating 2 dogs with everything, hot, and a chocolate milk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2012
Best ever...Have made this quite a few times and always try something different each time...But I always add garlic powder and onion powder and use beer instead of water!!! Whole family loves this and I use my slow cooker everytime....start it b4 bed and by the morning its done:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lafayette, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2012
Quick, tasty
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ypoitras
Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2012
Very good! We liked! I didn't put sausages into the hot-dog, just like that was perfect. And at lunch time, the day after, I put some melted cheese in it (white cheddar), it was even better. As usual, my best measure is: " Does all the family like that? " And the answer is yes, so, it passes our test! :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ypoitras
Home Town: Trois-Rivieres, Quebec, Canada
Living In: Quebec, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 123) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Let the Slow Cooker Handle It
Let the Slow Cooker Handle It

The best wintertime meals need a long, slow simmer while you're doing something else.

Get Your Money's Worth
Get Your Money's Worth

Our big collection of budget recipes will leave some jingle in your pocket.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Coney Island Hot Dogs

See how to make America’s favorite beefy hot dog condiment.

Burger or Hot Dog Buns

Simple homemade buns will add a gourmet twist to your next BBQ.

Minute Steaks with BBQ Butter Sauce

See how to make minute steaks dressed in a simple BBQ sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States