Heavenly Halibut Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2012
This has become my go to recipe for a quick dinner. I always have the ingredients and it takes only as long as the fish needs to bake. I usually serve steamed broccoli or squash and whole wheat orzo.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2012
This is a great recipe! We always add Cotija mexican cheese instead of parmesan and it is wonderful just as well!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2012
This recipe was excellent. I was recently fishing in Alaska and was able to try this recipe with freshly caught Halibut (which in my opinion, made this even better). The recipe makes the fish flake easily and provides a taste that can't be compared to any other way I have had Halibut. With a freezer full of halibut, I will be having this again. One other note though...the addition of a little bit of crumbled cooked bacon on top adds a little bit of pop to this already amazing recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2012
Super easy to prepare, but very very rich, even for me, who is a fan of rich and cheesy food. One tip - no need to keep the extra sauce that is in the pan, the coating that stays on top of the fish is plenty for flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2012
I made recipe exactly as directed. I agree with other reviewers, way too much butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2012
I made this for my son's birthday and everyone loved it. I always try to make recipe "as is" first, but in this case I didn't have enough butter and my store didn't have halibut. Doubled recipe but only used 1/4 cup butter and it was fine. Used rockfish as substitute and it was fantastic. And even saved money since rockfish is cheaper! Served over a bed of fresh angel hair pasta and grilled zuchinni. Definitely a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2012
This is indeed heavenly.... It's quite rich but the flavour is to die for. We also used it on Tenderloin steaks and it was great there as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bill Ligertwood

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2012
Excellent recipe - I really enjoyed it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Montreal, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by andrea1037
Reviewed: May 29, 2012
This was a good recipe, we changed the hot sauce to red pepper flakes and we loved to spice. I would cut the butter in half though, 1/4 cup is to much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2012
UPDATED POST Sept 2014 - OK my boyfriend has been making this dish for us for a good couple of years now and we NEVER get sick of it. However, at my request he has revised the ingredients to make it a little healthier. We eliminate the butter all together and use 2-3 Tablespoons of plain yogurt instead. Also, our mayo is the light variety. It's still soooo delicious and not greasy as previous posters have mentioned. I definitely would not substitute the lemon juice or the Parmesan for anything else though! Please believe me! Mmmmmm....just had the leftovers for lunch and had to post :) ORIGINAL POST: This dish was INCREDIBLE! We had guests for dinner. They brought the halibut and we never really cook it so we were a little nervous, but this came out soooo good I cannot give it enough praise! We didn't have any green onions in the the house, so we sub'd red onion diced very small. Delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa Marie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Parksville, British Columbia, Canada
Living In: Campbell River, British Columbia, Canada

Displaying results 101-110 (of 389) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Pan-Roasted Halibut with Mushroom Butter Sauce

Halibut fillets are pan-roasted with mushrooms in a simple lemon butter sauce.

Halibut with Rice Wine

Simple grilled halibut topped with a flavorful rice wine and black bean sauce.

Almond Crusted Halibut Crystal Symphony

Turn heads (and plates) with this surprisingly easy, but very impressive, dinner.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States