Heavenly Halibut Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2012
I made recipe exactly as directed. I agree with other reviewers, way too much butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2012
I made this for my son's birthday and everyone loved it. I always try to make recipe "as is" first, but in this case I didn't have enough butter and my store didn't have halibut. Doubled recipe but only used 1/4 cup butter and it was fine. Used rockfish as substitute and it was fantastic. And even saved money since rockfish is cheaper! Served over a bed of fresh angel hair pasta and grilled zuchinni. Definitely a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2012
This is indeed heavenly.... It's quite rich but the flavour is to die for. We also used it on Tenderloin steaks and it was great there as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bill Ligertwood

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2012
Excellent recipe - I really enjoyed it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Montreal, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by andrea1037
Reviewed: May 29, 2012
This was a good recipe, we changed the hot sauce to red pepper flakes and we loved to spice. I would cut the butter in half though, 1/4 cup is to much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2012
UPDATED POST Sept 2014 - OK my boyfriend has been making this dish for us for a good couple of years now and we NEVER get sick of it. However, at my request he has revised the ingredients to make it a little healthier. We eliminate the butter all together and use 2-3 Tablespoons of plain yogurt instead. Also, our mayo is the light variety. It's still soooo delicious and not greasy as previous posters have mentioned. I definitely would not substitute the lemon juice or the Parmesan for anything else though! Please believe me! Mmmmmm....just had the leftovers for lunch and had to post :) ORIGINAL POST: This dish was INCREDIBLE! We had guests for dinner. They brought the halibut and we never really cook it so we were a little nervous, but this came out soooo good I cannot give it enough praise! We didn't have any green onions in the the house, so we sub'd red onion diced very small. Delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa Marie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Parksville, British Columbia, Canada
Living In: Campbell River, British Columbia, Canada
Reviewed: May 28, 2012
I baked this and broiled for 2min...used celery juice to replace lemon and did not use butter at all. IT was fabulous! My honey loved it! I will try it again...soon!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2012
I wish I could give this 10 stars...this is sooooo good. I was looking for something that was very low carb and delicious and this hit the spot. I will def. make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Shreve, Ohio, USA
Living In: Wooster, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2012
I didn't have lemons or green onion. I used orange ruffy instead of Halibut. I pan fried side one on high heat with olive oil for 2 min then turned over and transferred to cookie sheet and spread sauce generously over raw side. Broiled for 2 minutes in the oven and it turned out perfectly moist.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2012
I cooked it exactly as the recipe says and it turned out pretty good. The only difficulty I had was adding the spread on to the cooked halibut. By the time I finished it had melted and was running all over the dish. Next time I will use a smaller dish to keep the melted spead contained to the top of the fish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 385) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Pan-Roasted Halibut with Mushroom Butter Sauce

Halibut fillets are pan-roasted with mushrooms in a simple lemon butter sauce.

Halibut with Rice Wine

Simple grilled halibut topped with a flavorful rice wine and black bean sauce.

Seared Halibut Steaks with Bacon Bean Relish

See how to make easy pan-seared halibut steaks with bacon and bean relish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States