Heavenly Chocolate Mousse Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Rae
Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2006
This was not what i expected at all the flavor was ok but not at all what i was hoping for. I defiantly would add some vanilla in with the cream before you whip it, I think that was one thing that was really missing. I may try this again. ****Update*****So years later I came across this recipe again. Didn't realize that I had made it before when I planned it for dessert. Now it may have been my inexperience at this kind of thing the first time around, but tonight it was fantastic! I did add some vanilla to the whipping cream. Very rich dessert and so pretty served in wine glasses topped with whipped cream. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rae

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sierra Vista, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: May 4, 2007
I thought the recipe was excellent and it was a huge hit at my dinner party. I did add vanilla into the whipped cream as the other reviewer suggested and I found it took me longer to get the yolk mixture to temperature, so leave yourself a bit more time when creating this dessert. In a stemmed glass topped with fresh whipped cream and a fanned strawberry it was very elegant and delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Salem, New Hampshire, USA
Living In: Derry, New Hampshire, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2007
I used this recipe to make chocolate mousse cups for my wedding reception. It was a remarkable success! Everyone enjoyed them so much, not only did I not get a cup, but the whole batch was gone that fed 300 people! This mousse is by far the best I have ever done! 5 Stars!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2007
the husband loved it. was a bit heavy for me. would have made a great pie filling. excellent flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Collins, Colorado, USA
Living In: Evanston, Wyoming, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2007
I made this for my boyfriend, who is a total chocolate addict, and he loved it. In fact he ate one of the extra servings I had made for breakfast the morning after I served it. One tip, make sure to serve this in small portions, because if the portion is too big, the chocolate is a bit overwhelming.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Long Beach, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2007
Wow that was great! Also I really liked the way it was written (160 degrees F, about 1-2 minutes) Thanks for the break down. I have been trying to make chocolate mousse for 5 years. I never do it right it always taste fake. Thank you so much, Lori username jarhess
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2007
This is a great recipe...exactly what I was looking for! A dense chocolatey mousse...great w/whipped cream!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mobile, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2007
I LOVE THIS RECIPE. I used it to fill a chocolate cake. The only change I made was that I used 1/2 cup strong, cold coffee instead of water. It really amps up the chocolate flavor without adding a coffee taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
167 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by campagnes

Cooking Level: Professional

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2007
Really creamy and rich - small serves only!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2007
Very light and delicious. First time I made them I didn't whip the cream enough so the mousse had too much liquid in it. It was still tasty though. I made this again tonight and whipped the cream for a good 14 minutes. This time it turned out perfect. I'm serving this as a light dessert for a small gathering tomorrow evening. I think it'll be good topped with cool whip.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KRISTYLEE3

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bethlehem, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Hellertown, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 364) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States