Heavenly Chocolate Mousse Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2011
delicious and easy to make!! very rich!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2011
Excellent mousse. Turned out great. I added 1 tblsp instant coffee grounds to water to give it a cappachino flavor. Putting metal bowl and beaters in freezer before using will give your whipping cream the right consistency. Big hit at my daughter's birthday party. We served over brownie and added a fresh raspberry to each serving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2011
Turned out really good, perfectly chocolatey. The only reason I am giving this 4 stars is because I ran into difficulty with the egg yolk step and ended up scrambling two batches before I got it right. I don't know how crucial the yolks are to the recipe, but I don't like the idea of having uncooked eggs in my mousse. I may try this again and leave them out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2011
I just made this recipe tonight for a co-worker's birthday tomorrow. I made a few modifications and thought it turned out rich and delicious. First, I doubled the recipe to serve 12. I used one 10 oz bag of Ghirardelli 60% Cacao Bittersweet Chocolate. I did add 1/4 cup of water to the chips and eggs. I used a glass bowl and set it over a pot of simmering water. As stated by another reviewer, simmer the water on low and let the chocolate, butter and water melt SLOWLY. Then set it aside. As for the whipping cream, I used heavy cream. I added about 1/4 cup or so of sugar into the cream and 2 tsp. vanilla. Remember, I doubled this recipe. In the saucepan with the egg yolks, I added the sugar and 1/2 tsp vanilla. I did not add the full amount of water to the yolk mixture. Probably 2 TBSP. I whisked the egg yolk mixture and continued to whisk it over medium heat for 2 minutes. This was the trickest part b/c I didn't have a candy thermometer. When the eggs were done, I added it to the melted chocolate. I used a larger bowl filled half way w/ice and water and placed the combined chocolate and yolk inside of it. I then mixed it w/mixer until it cooled. Folded in 3/4 of the 2 1/2 cups of whipped cream and reserved the rest for the top. Hope this helped you all. It takes a bit more time then expected.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2011
OMG, I just made this for our thanksgiving feast today. I was spooning it right out of the pan it was so delicious. I used half dark and half milk chocolate. I used a pan of boiling water on the stove with another smaller pan inside because I didn't have the right equipment. I added a cap full of vanilla to the egg mixture. I added two tablespoons of powdered sugar and half teaspoon of cinnamon to the whipping cream as I was whipping (my favorite from another recipe). I folded in slowly and put it all in graham cracker pie crust. I think I should have probably added gellatin or reduced the cream but it seems to be setting quite well on it's own. It is absolutely delicous, I will be making this every year as a family favorite from now on. Thanks for all the comments about watching the egg mixture, it was really helpful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2011
Easy cheesy chicken breezy! And it's taste is to die for!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2011
Great recipe. I used a 8 oz. of whipping cream as it comes in either a 1/2 pint (8 oz.) or 1 pint (16 oz.) and I did not want all the waste. It worked great - was a stronger chocolate flavor than if using the 1 1/4 cup of whipping cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2011
Made this for work...It was dip day...I actually brought marshmallows, pretzels, and nilla wafers for people to dip with. It was a huge hit! Tastes like chocolate ice cream!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2011
I took this to my Aunty's and it was a huge hit! Everyone loved it, I ate about 15 scoops, it was that good!!! I didn't have ice at the time but I just used cold water and a freezer block in a bowl and it worked just as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2011
less water.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 364) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States