Heavenly Chocolate Mousse Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2014
I've made this recipe many times, and each time it comes out beautifully. I do heat the egg mixture much slower than suggested, taking closer to 5-8 minutes to get up to 160° in order to not scramble the eggs and keep the smooth texture. The directions are very easy to follow and it really doesn't take a long time at all. The hardest part is waiting for it to chill before eating!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2014
I had no trouble at all with this recipe. It was easy and quick to put together. I was a bit short on the semi-sweet chocolate squares, so I used some semi-sweet chocolate chips to make up the difference, and they worked just fine. This mousse is definitely rich, almost like chocolate ice cream. My kids and I enjoyed it, but I think it was too much for my husband(he doesn't really have a sweet tooth). I topped the mousse(in ramekins) each with more fresh whipped cream and a whole strawberry. Good recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2012
I made this mousse and but in the refrig let it set then I added 1 cup of whipped cream to it made it really light and creamy love it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Lakeland, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2012
Awesome recipe. Make sure you don't stop whipping the whipped too early, I stop mine too early, it became pudding texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2012
My sister is a mousse-a-holic, so for her birthday I thought I'd make her her favorite, chocolate mousse cake, and this recipe worked perfectly. You just take your favorite chocolate cake recipe (I used a betty crocker recipe), make 1/2 the recipe to fill a 9 inch round pan, and spread this over the top as if it were a thick icing. It's very rich, almost to the point of bitterness, so I added a layer of whipped cream over the mousse and dotted it with chocolate chips. For a chocoholic like my sister though, it worked perfectly :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Megan White

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2012
Definitely not a recipe for the novice. I had difficulty with the egg yolks, and if you use a double boiler you won't have any trouble. Over all - it's an amazing recipe and delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2012
I've made this dessert twice already and it has become my husband's favorite. A great addition to my culinary repertoire. The key is to use really great chocolate (I always go with dark). I topped the end result with powdered sugar, a little shaved chocolate, a pinch of cinnamon and nutmeg. Light and fluffy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2012
Lovely!! I used white chocolate and added a drop of vanilla flavour and a drop of lemon flavour. I also let everything come to a boil while stirring with a leaf of gelatin before pouring into the dessert glasses.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2012
This is fabulous! Read Christine's review - the first one. It does take some work and more time than I thought to get the egg yolk mixture to 160°. I volunteer at a hospice as a cook and I made this and Cheese Souffles today (another AR recipe) and our residents really enjoyed both! This is rich and, indeed, heavenly! The egg yolk mixture gets very, very thick so those folks that commented that their mousse wasn't thick enough hadn't cooked the egg yolks enough. Keep the temperature low and keep stirring it (I used a whisk). I will make this again when I want to treat someone. It's definitely an indulgence!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by janet7th

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Scotia, New York, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2012
I made this mousse for my husband's retirement party! He is known as the "moose" man. It was a huge it! Simply sinful! I made chocolate cups to serve it in. Milk chocolate, white chocolate & dark chocolate. Simply awesome! Kim . . . . .
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 364) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States