Heavenly Chocolate Mousse Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2014
I love this recipe! I've been making it for a few years now ever since I found it. I tried some suggestions that others left on here and found a few new ideas of my own. Instead of water, I use darigold refuel chocolate milk. There's lots of protein and no lactose. I also add 1 of those mini shot size bottles of amaretto di saronno. I pour most of it in with the melting chocolate and add the rest in to the whipped cream. Then I pour it all into an oreo pie crust - it really is heavenly! I adjust the recipe to 9 servings to equal a whole bag of chocolate chips and it makes more than will fit in a pie crust.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2014
Amazing
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2014
I've made this recipe many times, and each time it comes out beautifully. I do heat the egg mixture much slower than suggested, taking closer to 5-8 minutes to get up to 160° in order to not scramble the eggs and keep the smooth texture. The directions are very easy to follow and it really doesn't take a long time at all. The hardest part is waiting for it to chill before eating!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2014
I had no trouble at all with this recipe. It was easy and quick to put together. I was a bit short on the semi-sweet chocolate squares, so I used some semi-sweet chocolate chips to make up the difference, and they worked just fine. This mousse is definitely rich, almost like chocolate ice cream. My kids and I enjoyed it, but I think it was too much for my husband(he doesn't really have a sweet tooth). I topped the mousse(in ramekins) each with more fresh whipped cream and a whole strawberry. Good recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2012
I made this mousse and but in the refrig let it set then I added 1 cup of whipped cream to it made it really light and creamy love it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Lakeland, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2012
Awesome recipe. Make sure you don't stop whipping the whipped too early, I stop mine too early, it became pudding texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2012
My sister is a mousse-a-holic, so for her birthday I thought I'd make her her favorite, chocolate mousse cake, and this recipe worked perfectly. You just take your favorite chocolate cake recipe (I used a betty crocker recipe), make 1/2 the recipe to fill a 9 inch round pan, and spread this over the top as if it were a thick icing. It's very rich, almost to the point of bitterness, so I added a layer of whipped cream over the mousse and dotted it with chocolate chips. For a chocoholic like my sister though, it worked perfectly :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Megan White

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2012
Definitely not a recipe for the novice. I had difficulty with the egg yolks, and if you use a double boiler you won't have any trouble. Over all - it's an amazing recipe and delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2012
I've made this dessert twice already and it has become my husband's favorite. A great addition to my culinary repertoire. The key is to use really great chocolate (I always go with dark). I topped the end result with powdered sugar, a little shaved chocolate, a pinch of cinnamon and nutmeg. Light and fluffy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2012
Lovely!! I used white chocolate and added a drop of vanilla flavour and a drop of lemon flavour. I also let everything come to a boil while stirring with a leaf of gelatin before pouring into the dessert glasses.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 366) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chocolate Chip Cookies
Chocolate Chip Cookies

Have you made a batch lately? They're everybody's favorite.

Spring Salads
Spring Salads

Freshening up the salad menu for spring has never been so delicious.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States