Heavenly Chocolate Mousse Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Rae
Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2006
This was not what i expected at all the flavor was ok but not at all what i was hoping for. I defiantly would add some vanilla in with the cream before you whip it, I think that was one thing that was really missing. I may try this again. ****Update*****So years later I came across this recipe again. Didn't realize that I had made it before when I planned it for dessert. Now it may have been my inexperience at this kind of thing the first time around, but tonight it was fantastic! I did add some vanilla to the whipping cream. Very rich dessert and so pretty served in wine glasses topped with whipped cream. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rae

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sierra Vista, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: May 4, 2007
I thought the recipe was excellent and it was a huge hit at my dinner party. I did add vanilla into the whipped cream as the other reviewer suggested and I found it took me longer to get the yolk mixture to temperature, so leave yourself a bit more time when creating this dessert. In a stemmed glass topped with fresh whipped cream and a fanned strawberry it was very elegant and delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Salem, New Hampshire, USA
Living In: Derry, New Hampshire, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2007
I used this recipe to make chocolate mousse cups for my wedding reception. It was a remarkable success! Everyone enjoyed them so much, not only did I not get a cup, but the whole batch was gone that fed 300 people! This mousse is by far the best I have ever done! 5 Stars!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2007
the husband loved it. was a bit heavy for me. would have made a great pie filling. excellent flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Collins, Colorado, USA
Living In: Evanston, Wyoming, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2007
I made this for my boyfriend, who is a total chocolate addict, and he loved it. In fact he ate one of the extra servings I had made for breakfast the morning after I served it. One tip, make sure to serve this in small portions, because if the portion is too big, the chocolate is a bit overwhelming.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Long Beach, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2007
Wow that was great! Also I really liked the way it was written (160 degrees F, about 1-2 minutes) Thanks for the break down. I have been trying to make chocolate mousse for 5 years. I never do it right it always taste fake. Thank you so much, Lori username jarhess
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2007
This is a great recipe...exactly what I was looking for! A dense chocolatey mousse...great w/whipped cream!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mobile, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2007
I LOVE THIS RECIPE. I used it to fill a chocolate cake. The only change I made was that I used 1/2 cup strong, cold coffee instead of water. It really amps up the chocolate flavor without adding a coffee taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
167 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by campagnes

Cooking Level: Professional

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2007
Really creamy and rich - small serves only!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2007
Very light and delicious. First time I made them I didn't whip the cream enough so the mousse had too much liquid in it. It was still tasty though. I made this again tonight and whipped the cream for a good 14 minutes. This time it turned out perfect. I'm serving this as a light dessert for a small gathering tomorrow evening. I think it'll be good topped with cool whip.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KRISTYLEE3

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bethlehem, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Hellertown, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 366) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States