Heavenly Chocolate Mousse Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2011
This is THE only dessert my husband will eat! I make a double batch every week. I melt the chocolate in the microwave and just make sure it's 100% melted. It's awesome :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Puyallup, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2011
This was decent but not heavenly. I would use milk chocolate next time, or a combination of that and bittersweet maybe. I didn't care for the semisweet taste. This had a nice consistency though. I used an instant-read digital thermometer to check the temperature of the egg mixture while cooking. I used a bowl of ice water with about two trays worth of cubes and set the pan in that. Within less than ten minutes the mixture was getting almost too thick -- so it sped up the time in a big way. This recipe will remain in my recipe box but I'll keep looking to get the quality of a mousse from a restaurant where I had "heavenly" chocolate mousse: Chez Francois.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Erin

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by jewlster1259
Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2011
I will never use another mousse recipe. It works wonders in cakes or on its own. Thanks for the great recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jewlster1259

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by lisa2roberto
Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2011
It took me awhile to get the egg yolks to 160 degrees. When they did, they were cooked and curdled.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lisa2roberto

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Miami, Florida, USA
Living In: Auburndale, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2011
Delicious, but HEAVY. Could only eat a couple bites before putting down the spoon. Might use it to fill a cake, though. It's heavy enough to hold up under the weight.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MandyHomemaker

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2011
I made it exactly as stated, very easy and yummy.I can't wait until the family comes together for dinner. I licked the bowl clean. Sue.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sue Prasad

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2011
I did not find it easy to make. After it set in the freezer it came out more gelato-y than mousse-like. Even after LOTS of whipping, there was nothing fluffy about it. But it could have been preparer error ...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2011
As is, this dessert is good, but seems to lack something, I did double the ingredients, so maybe that played a part. Though I know after folding in the whipped cream, I tried a taste from what was left and it was extremely bland and might be what contributed to it. I added a table spoon of sugar and a cap full of vanilla to what remained of the whipped cream and used as a topping along with melting some of the extra chocolate to drizzle on top. I highly recommend jazzing up the whipped cream while whipping.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2011
Absolutely to die for!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2011
My niece requested I make chocolate mousse for Christmas dessert and said she would be happy with the cool whip powder pudding mix recipe. I wasn't. I tried this one and was not disappointed. I did follower some advice from other viewers by chilling my metal mixing bowl & beaters and adding 1/2 of small pkg unflavored gelatin for the whipping cream. I also added vanilla to the chocolate mixture then cooled it in the freezer for 5 minutes, stirred it, freezer for 5 minutes, then stirred in whipped whipping cream. My niece said it was heavenly!!!! Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ang

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Columbia City, Indiana, USA
Living In: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 366) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States