Heavenly Chocolate Mousse Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: May 15, 2011
This mousse is so rich I was afraid I would be the only one eating it, but my husband nearly demolished it in one evening! So good and so easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2011
this was delightful! I made this for our dessert when we had some company over for dinner... made that morning so it sat in the fridge all day. I melted the chocolate slowly in a saucepan on the stove on very low heat, stirring constantly. I had my big mixing bowl chilled in the freezer, so I used that for when I whipped the whipping cream. I whipped it on the 'high' setting for at least 8-10 min, not stopping once. I then seperated the egg yolks, and whisked it in a bowl with the sugar and some cold coffee, and a 'dash' of vanilla like others suggested (omitted the water), before adding it to the pot so the yolks didn't turn scrambl-y on me. I whisked it on med-high continuously and it became a frothy mixture (smells goood! with the coffee and the sugar and vanilla). I then added the choc. to it, stirrred well, then put the saucepan in my fridge for 5 min., came back, whisked it some more.. put it back in .. put some laundry in the dryer, came back, whisked it again, then added it to the whipping cream bowl and used the beaters on high for another few minutes... flufffyyy! come dessert time I put the mousse into martini glasses, sprinkled some icing sugar lightly overtop, and put a few raspberries ontop of each glass with some chocolate mint leave things I had in the freezer. my company was super impressed with the mousse, and the presentation. and it was easy!!, just follow some key steps as others mentioned :))))
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Right on!, Rachel

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2011
Great texture. Far too sweet. I omitted a third of the sugar and will be reducing that again next time. However, there will be a next time!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rachel

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2011
I am 7 months pregnant and I was craving mousse. This was an amazing recipe. I made it exactly as it was written. I was worried about the chocolate seizing up because of the water; but it had no trouble. Also I read some reviews that said the texture is off, I think this could be due to not whipping the cream long enough. Mine came out amazingly fluffy. When my husband gets home (military) I will be making this for us. Thank you again :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Kari-Lynn1975
Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2011
Followed the recipe exactly and it turned out perfect. Was very simple to make :) Little bit of fresh whip cream and a strawberry were the perfect match for appeal to both the eye and the taste buds :) I think next time I will try it with Raspberry Puree. One thing is for certain, there will be a next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kari-Lynn1975

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2011
mmm! This mousse is incredibly delicious! Very rich and just a delight! definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by amphiktere

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Amarillo, Texas, USA
Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2011
I thought this was a great recipe! I made it for my family and they loved it. I crushed up oreos and put some of them in the bottom of the dessert bowl, then put in a scoop of the mousse, then sprinkled another layer of oreo, then a dollop of cool whip, and then sprinkled more oreo crumble on top. It was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2011
This is the easiest mousse I've ever made. Smooth, creamy and chocolatey. I did goof and add all the water in with the chocolate, so I just put a teensy bit in with the eggs. Easy, and forgiving! *Update* I have made this numerous times, and once did get the dreaded "cooked egg bits", but have had great success otherwise, using different types of chocolate and combinations of chocolate: milk, bittersweet, semi-sweet, and the huge package of double chocolate Ghiardelli that Sam's Club sold last Christmas. My next attempt will be Ghiardelli white "chocolate". I believe the candy thermometer is essential, but now as another reviewer suggested, I strain the chocolate mixture before folding in the whipped cream, just in case. Today, this will fill the center of my chocolate cake, baked with the Wilton heart Tasty-fill pan I just picked up on Valentine's Day clearance. I wanted to give it a try before I pull it out next Valentine's Day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Burlington, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2011
Definitely harder than the recipe lets on, this actually came out really good! I followed Christine's advice (an earlier reviewer) and this went great as a cake filler and on its own!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2011
The first time I made this, it had some chunks of scrambled egg in it. I overcooked the yolks. The second time, I whisked the yolks, sugar, and water for 1 minute before putting it on the heat. I continued to stir it until it reached 150 degrees. Then I followed the directions from there. It was a perfect filling for a chocolate chocolate chip cake!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Erie, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Columbia, South Carolina, USA

Displaying results 71-80 (of 366) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Cool As A Cucumber Salad
Cool As A Cucumber Salad

We have over 100 cucumber salads to help you keep your cool.

Classic Meatloaf
Classic Meatloaf

Meatloaf is the hearty, family-pleasing meal that makes the greatest leftovers ever.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States