Heavenly Chocolate Mousse Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2011
This recipe was amazing! It was very rich, but thoroughly whipping the cream made it quite light and fluffy. My little sister sold dixie cups of the mousse topped with whipped cream and cookie crumbs at a lemonade sale and it was a big hit! I will definitely be making it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2011
I forgot this was on the stove and managed to cook the yolks and nearly burn the chocolate, and it was STILL delicious (after a bit of straining, of course--yuck cooked yolk bits!). I can't think of a more decadent dessert than this mousse topped with fresh whipped cream and some shaved chocolate.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by adi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lisbon, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Bethany, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2011
I used Ghirardeli semi-sweet chocolate chips (instead of chopped bars) and I would agree with the reviewer who said the quality of the chocolate is key. Use something that is worth tasting. I also used a little unflavored gelatin in my whipped cream and it gave it a nice smooth consistency. I don't own a candy thermometer so I somewhat guessed on the temperature of the egg yolks--when it starts to feel a little hot on your finger, it's time to remove it from the heat. Make sure you don't remove it too soon though. I plan to top it with fresh sliced strawberries and serve it alongside homemade vanilla ice cream. This recipe is decadent and FANTASTIC--totally worth the extra calories.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Crazycook
Reviewed: May 29, 2011
I use this recipe every time I make mousse now. I love it and always get a lot of compliments.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Crazycook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fort Collins, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MamaChef
Reviewed: May 20, 2011
This recipe was delish!!! i had some whipped heavy cream already in my fridge and wanted to use it up and found this recipe. I added about a tsp of vanilla and a little more sugar to the end product since I only had about 6 baking squares in my pantry and it needed to be sweeter, but those are the only modifications I made, i followed everything else to the T and it came out perfect!!!! will definitely make again and again! Thanks for the recipe :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MamaChef

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2011
This definitely requires a lot of effort. We topped it with whipped cream and some semisweet chocolate chips for a Valentine's Day dinner party, perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2011
This mousse is so rich I was afraid I would be the only one eating it, but my husband nearly demolished it in one evening! So good and so easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2011
this was delightful! I made this for our dessert when we had some company over for dinner... made that morning so it sat in the fridge all day. I melted the chocolate slowly in a saucepan on the stove on very low heat, stirring constantly. I had my big mixing bowl chilled in the freezer, so I used that for when I whipped the whipping cream. I whipped it on the 'high' setting for at least 8-10 min, not stopping once. I then seperated the egg yolks, and whisked it in a bowl with the sugar and some cold coffee, and a 'dash' of vanilla like others suggested (omitted the water), before adding it to the pot so the yolks didn't turn scrambl-y on me. I whisked it on med-high continuously and it became a frothy mixture (smells goood! with the coffee and the sugar and vanilla). I then added the choc. to it, stirrred well, then put the saucepan in my fridge for 5 min., came back, whisked it some more.. put it back in .. put some laundry in the dryer, came back, whisked it again, then added it to the whipping cream bowl and used the beaters on high for another few minutes... flufffyyy! come dessert time I put the mousse into martini glasses, sprinkled some icing sugar lightly overtop, and put a few raspberries ontop of each glass with some chocolate mint leave things I had in the freezer. my company was super impressed with the mousse, and the presentation. and it was easy!!, just follow some key steps as others mentioned :))))
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Right on!, Rachel

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2011
Great texture. Far too sweet. I omitted a third of the sugar and will be reducing that again next time. However, there will be a next time!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rachel

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2011
I am 7 months pregnant and I was craving mousse. This was an amazing recipe. I made it exactly as it was written. I was worried about the chocolate seizing up because of the water; but it had no trouble. Also I read some reviews that said the texture is off, I think this could be due to not whipping the cream long enough. Mine came out amazingly fluffy. When my husband gets home (military) I will be making this for us. Thank you again :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 362) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States