Heavenly Chocolate Mousse Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2012
The flavor is amazing! Rich and keeps your mouth watering for more. One word of caution about heating the egg yolks. It's better to use a metal thermometer instead of a candy thermometer. The metal thermometer will measure the temperature more accurately. Also, keep stirring the egg mixture over heat otherwise the bottom layer may start cooking. When that happens, the bottom cooked egg layer will be at a different temperature than the uncooked top layer. Don't be fooled into thinking the temperature isn't hot enough!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by isiscrystal
Reviewed: May 29, 2012
Though I've ate mousse several times, this was my first attempt at making it myself. I did as other reviewers suggested and substituted cold coffee for the water. All-in-all, the recipe was as good as I had hoped it would be, and my guests all liked it! A note on the egg mixture you have to cook on the stove - when it got up to 160 degrees, it turned from a runny liquid to a very frothy texture. I'm guessing that's what you should look for if you don't have a thermometer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2012
WOW!!! This recipe was AMAZING!!!! I followed the suggestions of checking temperature, and whipping the cream to an almost buttery consistency. and it turned out perfect!! I made this for my Fiance's birthday dessert, I think it is one of his new favs. (he had thirds). Be careful though, it turns out very rich, I can't handle rich foods very well so be warned if you are like me a, this is an easy mousse to OD on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2012
I made a sugar free version of this using s/f chocolate chips and splenda- it was heavenly!!! I couldnt believe how well it turned out!! Definitely a keeper!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2012
I served in a molded chocolate dessert cup with a fanned strawberry on top - made an awesome Mother's Day even better. Delicious!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Erinmoo526

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2012
Absolutely delicious. I used semi-sweet chipits and topped it with fresh raspberries - next time I would layer fruit throughout to cut the richness. Perfect dessert!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2012
Absolutely divine! I replaced coffee for the water, and it gave it a very light mocha taste. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mmm.Wine

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2012
I'm pretty new to cooking things like this. I just made it for my family and it came out great! It was light and the flavor was perfect! Thanks for the recipe! I'll be making it again for sure! (:
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jordyn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2012
I usually don't have time to write reviews but I just had to for this. I hesitated in making it because it sounded time consuming but it was actually very easy and so delicious. It came out the perfect texture and flavor. I had to use cool whip instead of the whipping cream because I decided to make it at the last minute but it worked great so if you are in a time pinch, that is a great time saving step. Can't wait to try it with the real thing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2012
PERFECT! I made this recipe as it is and used the mousse as a layer in a trifle I was making. It could not have been better...absolutely wonderful!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 364) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States