Heavenly Chocolate Mousse Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2012
This is fabulous! Read Christine's review - the first one. It does take some work and more time than I thought to get the egg yolk mixture to 160°. I volunteer at a hospice as a cook and I made this and Cheese Souffles today (another AR recipe) and our residents really enjoyed both! This is rich and, indeed, heavenly! The egg yolk mixture gets very, very thick so those folks that commented that their mousse wasn't thick enough hadn't cooked the egg yolks enough. Keep the temperature low and keep stirring it (I used a whisk). I will make this again when I want to treat someone. It's definitely an indulgence!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by janet7th

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Scotia, New York, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2012
I made this mousse for my husband's retirement party! He is known as the "moose" man. It was a huge it! Simply sinful! I made chocolate cups to serve it in. Milk chocolate, white chocolate & dark chocolate. Simply awesome! Kim . . . . .
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2012
The flavor is amazing! Rich and keeps your mouth watering for more. One word of caution about heating the egg yolks. It's better to use a metal thermometer instead of a candy thermometer. The metal thermometer will measure the temperature more accurately. Also, keep stirring the egg mixture over heat otherwise the bottom layer may start cooking. When that happens, the bottom cooked egg layer will be at a different temperature than the uncooked top layer. Don't be fooled into thinking the temperature isn't hot enough!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by isiscrystal
Reviewed: May 29, 2012
Though I've ate mousse several times, this was my first attempt at making it myself. I did as other reviewers suggested and substituted cold coffee for the water. All-in-all, the recipe was as good as I had hoped it would be, and my guests all liked it! A note on the egg mixture you have to cook on the stove - when it got up to 160 degrees, it turned from a runny liquid to a very frothy texture. I'm guessing that's what you should look for if you don't have a thermometer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2012
WOW!!! This recipe was AMAZING!!!! I followed the suggestions of checking temperature, and whipping the cream to an almost buttery consistency. and it turned out perfect!! I made this for my Fiance's birthday dessert, I think it is one of his new favs. (he had thirds). Be careful though, it turns out very rich, I can't handle rich foods very well so be warned if you are like me a, this is an easy mousse to OD on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2012
I made a sugar free version of this using s/f chocolate chips and splenda- it was heavenly!!! I couldnt believe how well it turned out!! Definitely a keeper!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Weaverville, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2012
I served in a molded chocolate dessert cup with a fanned strawberry on top - made an awesome Mother's Day even better. Delicious!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Erinmoo526

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2012
Absolutely delicious. I used semi-sweet chipits and topped it with fresh raspberries - next time I would layer fruit throughout to cut the richness. Perfect dessert!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2012
Absolutely divine! I replaced coffee for the water, and it gave it a very light mocha taste. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mmm.Wine

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2012
I'm pretty new to cooking things like this. I just made it for my family and it came out great! It was light and the flavor was perfect! Thanks for the recipe! I'll be making it again for sure! (:
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jordyn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 366) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Celebrate Spring Salads
Celebrate Spring Salads

The most-tender new vegetables are here just in time for early spring salads!

Hearty Potato Soups
Hearty Potato Soups

Creamy, comforting potato soups will warm you up.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States