Heavenly Chipped Chocolate and Hazelnut Cheesecake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Photo by MomTo6
Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2009
If you have never made a cheesecake, this is a great recipe for you! It doesn't require the daunting "water bath" that most cheesecakes require. I'm giving it a 5 because of the fairly easy preparation (okay, the crust was time consuming and I didn't dip the hazelnuts in chocolate for the top), the great presentation (this looks fabulous and expensive), and the *delicious* flavor. BUT, I must admit it didn't quite taste the rich hazelnutty way I expected. I crumbled a chocolate hazelnut bar on the top and when I tasted a piece of the bar I realized that was the flavor I was hoping for (like Nutella) but the hazelnut liqueur just wasn't able to give it that flavor. Next time I might spread Nutella across it the top instead of the chocolate/hazelnut liqueur mixture. All that said, I still think this is a fantastic cheesecake and it is definitely worth trying if this is your first attempt at cheesecake!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MomTo6

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2009
This looked so amazing that no one believed I made it myself. This is wonderful and super rich. Great for a special occasion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by molly f

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2009
This was a delicious cheesecake. Everyone loved it. The only thing I would change is to make a regular graham cracker crust. I did not like the vanilla wafer crust. I will definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2008
I made this for Christmas last year, and it was gone so fast, I just barely was able to grab a piece! It was delicious and decadent. Must try.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2008
This cheesecake was sensational! I was able to serve 20 people with one cake since it is so rich so it's great for a group. Also, I made the cheesecake ahead except for the topping and froze it. I then thawed it in the fridge for a day and made the topping the day I served it. A huge time savor and the texture/taste were as if I had made it that day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2007
Very yummy and much easier to make than it looks. You don't HAVE to skin the hazelnuts, you know.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lauren Fewx

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Austin, Texas, USA
Living In: Round Rock, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2007
Decadent! This one is definitely a keeper!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2007
This cheesecake was delicious and beautiful. It got many compliments at the two Christmas parties I brought it to. When adding the chocolate glaze I forgot to add the sour cream. The chocolate applied nicely, but after it hardened it was much harder than the cake under it, so it was impossible to cut! My fault, I'll be more careful next time. :) I'll make this one again, I'm sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jimmy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Aylmer, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2006
very rich indeed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Adri

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Miami, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2006
this cheesecake is so amazing, and I couldn't have found it at a better time. I've been wanting to make a cheesecake, but they all take so much time to chill. Everyone absolutely loved it. I was frustrated when trying to get the hazelnuts, because the stores around here don't get them instock until next week, and I'm too young to buy the liquor. I used a chocolate bar with hazelnuts in it for the crust and topping. I used hazelnut flavored creamer instead of liquor. Next time I will try it with hazelnut flavoring so that it will stand out a bit more. THANKS for making my first cheesecake experience great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 54) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chocolate Cookie Cheesecake

Show-stopping cheesecake stars cream-filled chocolate sandwich cookies.

Chocolate Cappuccino Cheesecake

See how to make sinfully rich and chocolaty cheesecake.

White Chocolate Raspberry Cheesecake

Make this creamy white chocolate raspberry cheesecake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States