Heavenly Chipped Chocolate and Hazelnut Cheesecake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Photo by DAVIDIMM
Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2006
Great cheesecake. I had some fun, and used milk chocolate in the crust, semisweet chocolate in the filling and the glaze, and then drizzled it with dark chocolate. Check out the picture, it turned out great. I more than doubled the recipe, and made one 9" and one 10". The crust was a liitle tough to get to stick up the sides of the pan, but with a little work, I got it to stick. After it was cooked, it stayed up fine. I made this for an auction for the Young women's program at church. I'll let you know how much it went for.(I kept the 10" for my Dad's birthday party).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DAVIDIMM

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Birmingham, Alabama, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2006
Absolutely Fabulous. I really loved the crust (sans chocolate), I think I'll substitute this crust for any graham ones I come across. Besides omitting the chocolate from the crust, I also used Kalua instead of the hazelnut liqueur, and on top I just drizzled a chocolate glaze over chopped hazelnuts - mmm. I also used regular chocolate chips instead of the chopped, which I think was a mistake. Delicious and beautiful - Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by M. Stoffel

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Allenton, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Germantown, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2006
This cheesecake is wonderful! My friends and I always try to out do each other when it comes to cheesecake. I even got compliments from our semi-professional chef. I only put the crust on the bottom of the pan. The second time I made it, I opted to not put make the topping. I just put shaved chocolate on top. Delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jacksonville, Florida, USA
Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2005
This recipe is delicious. I have made it several times and everyone devours it! Many have asked me for the recipe. Just a few variations: I use milk chocolate chips, I prefer them to semi-sweet. And I don't use whole hazelnuts, so I skip the part of dipping them to garnish the cake. I simply sprinkle some crushed hazelnuts on top of the chocolate glaze. I highly recommended this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carolyn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2005
When I make it again, I'm probably going to use mini chocolate chips rather than bothering to chop up the larger ones. Other than that, a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Emily Trumbull

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2005
I added 2 tablespoon kahlua to the batter and 1 tablespoon to the glaze and used chopped almonds in place of hazelnut. It turned out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2004
Where I live there is no way I can get hazelnuts that are skinless. So, the night before Xmas supper I had my husband cracking nuts while I got the rest ready. Then I had to toast the nuts and rub the skins off. (huge Job) I wasn't impressed with the results. We all ate more whipped cream with our dessert than cheesecake to try to counteract the very rich cheesecake. Normally I like rich - but this was too much. After, I overheard someone say that they wish I would have just had pumpkin pie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Schreiber, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2004
This was very good - like a Nutella cheesecake. I took the advice of another reviewer and left the chocolate out of the crust and just added a bit more to the cheesecake itself. I bought a block of Ghirardelli chocolate and chopped that into small pieces, instead of using chips. I couldn't find any Frangelico, so I substituted a Chocolate Hazelnut liqueur and it turned out very well. Lots of compliments.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JENSPIN

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: South Bend, Indiana, USA
Living In: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2003
This is a fantastic cheesecake...very elegant and rich. I used crushed Oreos instead of chocolate chips and vanilla wafer crumbs on the crust, and the toasted hazelnuts added a perfect touch! I also chopped up some Ferrero Rocher candies and mixed them into the batter before baking. Rave Reviews!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
46 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2003
My first cheesecake, I made this for a party. It packs a lot of "presentation" punch, for very little work. I added an extra Tbs of hazelnut liquer to the topping, and had to use almonds for the crust, but it was a big success!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 54) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Leftover Central
Leftover Central

The hard work's over, now celebrate the leftovers.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chocolate Cookie Cheesecake

Show-stopping cheesecake stars cream-filled chocolate sandwich cookies.

Chocolate Cappuccino Cheesecake

See how to make sinfully rich and chocolaty cheesecake.

White Chocolate Raspberry Cheesecake

Make this creamy white chocolate raspberry cheesecake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States