Heavenly Chipped Chocolate and Hazelnut Cheesecake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Photo by just_reagan
Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2011
This recipe is amazing! My first ever attempt at a cheesecake and it came out perfect and got rave reviews. I substituted the hazelnuts with Macadamia Nuts and even found a Macadamia Liqueur(made by Trader Vic's) to use. Based on the fact that many people had substituted the way the crust was done, I also changed it by using Nabisco Chocolate Wafers instead of the chocolate chips and vanilla wafers. All the steps involved are well worth it! Many people will not believe that you actually made this cheesecake from scratch. I have a feeling this one will get requested many, many times.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2011
I love this website!! I really enjoyed making this cheesecake its quite simple. I did modify the cake somewhat. I excluded the semi chocolate chips from the cheesecake mixture and added 1-2 tablespoons of the hazelnut liqueur. (You can taste it to your liking). I used a chocolate ganache to top the cake. While making the ganache I added 1-2 tablespoons of the hazelnut liqueur. After pouring the ganache and allowing it to cool I topped off this beautiful cheesecake with Ferrero Roche chocolates instead of the toasted hazelnuts. This was a pretty big hit with my family. If you use the water bath method your cake will bake evenly and not run the risk of cracking, if not this is a great and simple method to bake an incredible cheesecake...Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2011
Simply the best cheesecake I've ever had! It was gorgeous and delicious and stunning for Thanksgiving dessert. Used Torani hazelnut flavouring, as I didn't have liquer. This recipe takes time with waiting, roasting, crushing, whipping, etc. but it is absolutely worth it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2011
I followed this recipe to a T and it turned out FANTASTIC! This was our Thanksgiving dessert and the whole family was amazed. It truly looks as beautiful as it tastes, and is up there with my favourite cheesecakes. It takes a bit of time with all the toasting, grinding, baking and waiting, but it is so worth it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2011
My favourite cake ever!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2011
My family loved this! It did crack along the top edges and a little down the middle though because 1 hour was too long for my oven and it overcooked it (I should have watched it better), but the taste was still amazing and the chocolate glaze covered up the cracks anyway! I used about 2 cups chocolate wafers and 1 cup chopped hazelnuts for the crust because I didn't want to have to chop up chocolate chips and look for vanilla wafers :) Definitely will keep making this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2011
I have made so many cheesecakes over the years but this beats them all. It's delicious, topped with the best chocolate frosting imaginable. I had a bit of trouble melting the chipped chocolate chips but with a little added oil, it finally worked and then the sour cream made it so smooth! I was surprised that it didn't call for a water bath in the oven, but it turned out perfectly, just as the recipe was written.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2011
The chocolate and hazelnut nicely accentuate each other in this recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2010
Awesome recipe. Turned out great for Thanksgiving, as an option to the pumpkin pie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2010
This was a great recipe. Made it for my niece's shower and everyone loved it. Easy to make and tasted like I worked very very hard.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Orange, Texas, USA
Living In: Beaumont, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 54) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chocolate Cookie Cheesecake

Show-stopping cheesecake stars cream-filled chocolate sandwich cookies.

Chocolate Cappuccino Cheesecake

See how to make sinfully rich and chocolaty cheesecake.

White Chocolate Raspberry Cheesecake

Make this creamy white chocolate raspberry cheesecake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States