Heavenly Chipped Chocolate and Hazelnut Cheesecake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2014
Great recipe! The reviews helped a lot. I left the chocolate out of the batter and it was a perfect balance. I didn't have vanilla wafers so I used graham crackers. Simple, beautiful, and perfect for Christmas! I would make again in a heartbeat. The chocolate topping was very yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2013
This was pretty good but I would like to make some more adjustments to make it even better. I used chocolate wafers for the crust. I think I may make a different cheesecake recipe and then incorporate ingredients from this one to make a more hazelnutty cheesecake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Boog
Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2013
Nice Nice Nice..I did not have hazelnut liqueur I had Kahlua and it worked perfect! also did not have hazelnuts and used almonds and still was amazing! another thing..I had dark chocolate chips for the glaze instead of semi-sweet...another deal breaker...Perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Boog

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Crestview, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2013
Good but very rich. Serve small pieces.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Birmingham, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2013
not bad very rich and a bit too sweet. people ate it but were not over joyed about it. does smell good bakeing though. no need to really use skinless nuts just chop them up really well and you will be ok
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jvu61

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bronx, New York, USA
Living In: Fishkill, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2012
This cheesecake is fabulous! I have been making it for at least 6 years as Christmas presents. People don't believe I've made it, its so awesome. I can't begin to count how many I've done, but these consistently requested year after year. I even by my hazelnuts in bulk!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rita

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2012
Yummy recipe. I suggest not adding the hazel nuts on top until serving time. They will lose their crisp if added more than a few hours a head of time. I have never had the hazelnut liqueur and it is great anyway. I've made this several times with different variations to lighten the recipe (different cheeses, low fat sour cream, less choc chips, some egg substitute) and all have been great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2012
This recipe is WONDERFUL! Unfortunately I had to make a couple substitutions because my local grocers carried neither hazelnuts or hazelnut liquor. I used walnuts and hazelnut flavoring syrup. I added a dash of the syrup to the crust to help the walnuts pretend to be hazelnuts lol. After making this recipe and reading the reviews about people who changed the crust, I can't see why. The only problem I had with the crust was it's somewhat dryness but I loved the chocolate/'nilla wafer blend, it looked beautiful and tasted great, I think people who leave out the chocolate or use cookies instead will just end up with a rather sucky crust. My only recommendation for people using this recipe is to make sure the chocolate chips you mix in the actual cheesecake itself are finely chopped in a blender. The parts of my cake that didn't get much chocolate from the coarse chop, didn't have much flavor compared to the parts that did so it was kind of unbalanced. I would add a little tiny bit of cocoa powder to the mix to help evenly distribute the chocolatey flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Xena91388

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2012
Had to add extra butter to get the crust to be workable (may be the dry climate here). My cake fell and had a huge crack in it. Very unfortunate. I think next time I will add the cheesecake while preheating the oven. I think that helps prevent cracking. The chocolate on top was a bit overwhelming, will go easier next time. With a few tweeks, I'd give it 5 stars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Freehold, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Layton, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2011
This cheesecake is average. First, the chocolate topping completely overwhelms the cheesecake itself. Second, the cheesecake part is really kind of meh, it's on the softer side and I don't really feel that putting in "chipped chocolate" really adds to it. In the end it just feels like a big chocolate, sugary mess in your mouth w/ a bit of cheesecake flavor towards the end. The hazelnut flavor gets lost in the chocolate as well. I won't make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Minty-green

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 55) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chocolate Cookie Cheesecake

Show-stopping cheesecake stars cream-filled chocolate sandwich cookies.

Chocolate Cappuccino Cheesecake

See how to make sinfully rich and chocolaty cheesecake.

White Chocolate Raspberry Cheesecake

Make this creamy white chocolate raspberry cheesecake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States