Heavenly Blueberry Smoothie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by GodivaGirl
Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2008
This was quite REFRESHING! I did make a few minor substitutions which included using agave in place of honey, plain yogurt instead of vanilla flavored (too much sugar) and crushed ice to make it really cold. I did use a frozen banana but did not think it needed to thaw before blending. I adding 1 tablespoon of ground flaxseed. I tried many smoothies from this site and will put this one in my smoothie rotations!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
94 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GodivaGirl

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Youngstown, Ohio, USA
Living In: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2008
If you're struggling with eating your fruits everyday, I would strongly suggest checking this smoothie out. It has two super foods in it and contains flax seed meal. Blueberries have some of the greatest antioxidant levels you can find in a fruit and flaxseed is a powerhouse for omega-3s and good souce of fiber. Eating 3 bananas a day has been shown to alleviate symptoms of depression/anxiety because of it's ability to increase your dopamine levels. How awesome it that? I add a little more blueberries and flax seed meal to mine because I like a thicker smoothie. I also use the Silk vanilla soy milk but no honey. Most the time I don't freeze the bananas and that doesn't bother me too much. I would recommend trying to use a good plain yogurt, none of that sugary stuff. If you're a big milk drinker try to find stuff low in calories and saturated fat (like Fage) and vice~versa if you're not a big milk drinker. Another recommendation is to add strawberries or a kiwi into the mix. You don't even really taste the kiwi, but that's another great source of omega-3s and antioxidants. I drink this every morning or as a lunch dessert for myself. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
93 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ashley c.

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2007
This is probably one of the best smoothies I have ever tasted. Even my husband drank it and he is not a real healthy eater. I substituted skim milk for the soy milk and added a little extra honey. Delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
47 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Dowagiac, Michigan, USA
Living In: Cassopolis, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2007
Tasty Smoothie! I use 2 bananas and do not freeze them as I feel the flavor comes out better this way. I also do not use honey due to allergic reaction but this tastes great anyways!! This recipe has been a heaven send on our hot summer nights as a "sweet treat" rather than reaching for the ice cream. Also instead of blueberries try frozen strawberries. Just as good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Erimess
Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2010
I really felt this was more a 3.5. I liked it fairly well but it wasn't great. I made it again, trying to improve upon my first one. I didn't use the flax meal either time, because -- well, I don't have it and I don't care. (I do smoothies for the fruit.) I also don't have soy milk around. The first time I used (reconstituted) nonfat dry milk, and Dannon yogurt, but it tasted too much like the yogurt and too little like the vanilla. (And I don't like plain yogurt.) So the second time I went with a different brand lowfat vanilla yogurt, and 1% milk. The banana and blueberries both frozen to make it good and cold. And because it calls for vanilla soy milk, I also added 1/4 tsp vanilla and a pinch extra honey. And still thought it was a 3.5. I tried. In the end I upped it to the 4 because it's easy - I like my smoothies SMOOTH so I like things that blend up really well. Oh, and I agree the banana doesn't need thawed. EDIT: I've made this 2 more times, separated in time, using full-fat vanilla yogurt, and both times would have called this closer to a 5. So I'm drawing the conclusion I just don't like the low fat stuff in this. I've also started using the full-fat version because I see nothing wrong with dairy fat and low/non-fat just has too much other garbage in it and I think is less healthy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Erimess

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2008
Awesome! Made it once without the honey and I couldn't even tell the diff. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2011
Yummy!! My dad and I had this for breakfast this morning and it was very filling. The changes I made were to use unsweetened soy milk, plain yogurt, and mixed berries. Oh, and I also threw in some spinach. The only thing I would do different next time is to add a little bit extra honey because I couldn't tell it was there. This one will definitely become part of our breakfast routine:) Thanks for sharing!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by grainfreegirl96
Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2008
Yum! I left out the flax and banana and used regular milk. Added a tsp of sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cierra

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA
Living In: Camby, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2007
I really love this recipe it was very tasty and easy to make. It was just sweet enough and I didnt need to add any extra sugar or honey. I used soy milk and I doubled the recipe to make enough for the kids (5 & 7 ) and myself. It is a great way to make sure they get enough fruit and fiber each day. I added a teaspoon more of flax and they didnt notice a bit and ask for it every morning :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2010
I made this bc I'm sick and felt like I needed some nutrition. The only changes I made were to use whole flax seed and blueberry yogurt, since I had those on hand. This is good and the banana is not overpowering. I think I prefer a juice-based smoothie instead of dairy-based.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Accokeek, Maryland, USA
Living In: Ithaca, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 96) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Strawberry Oatmeal Breakfast Smoothie

See how to make a rich and creamy fruit smoothie with no dairy.

Basic Fruit Smoothie

Fresh fruit, fruit juice, and ice—that’s all there is to it!

B and L's Strawberry Smoothie

Fresh berries, skim milk, plain yogurt, and vanilla make a 5-star smoothie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States