Heavenly Blueberry Smoothie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2008
Great recipe. I used regular milk and plain yogurt and added a couple of drops of vanilla extract. It cut the tang of the yogurt just enough. My banana wasn't frozen, but the blueberries were. I thought it was cold enough. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2008
Yum! I left out the flax and banana and used regular milk. Added a tsp of sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cierra

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA
Living In: Camby, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2008
I'm not the biggest fruit eater and bananas just gross me out but I can get them down if they're in a smoothie. I used juice in lieu of the milk and skipped the honey as I felt it was sweet enough. Very good and thank you for a delicious breakfast!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LINDA MCLEAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2008
I too prefer plain to vanilla yogurt( I always have it in my fridge) but if you're using it, switch the quantities of yogurt and milk. Go with 1 cup of milk and 1/2 cup yogurt, add a ts of honey. I used pretty much a cup of blueberries, and a regular banana with 1/2 cup ice. I like my smoothies with lots of ice. I didn't have flax so omitted that. Next time though, so the blueberry flavor shines, I'll try it with no banana, more blueberried, and maybe like a TB of yogurt just to thicken it up. Plain yogurt always tends to dominate in smoothies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA
Reviewed: May 5, 2008
I thought this smoothie was a bit yogurty so next time I may change the milk/yogurt ratio. I used plain yogurt but then had to add sugar to sweeten it a bit. I didn't freeze my banana and the smoothie wasn't cold enough so I added 6 ice cubes and that worked well. All in all, I liked this smoothie and I plan to make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CookingInSeattle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2008
If you're struggling with eating your fruits everyday, I would strongly suggest checking this smoothie out. It has two super foods in it and contains flax seed meal. Blueberries have some of the greatest antioxidant levels you can find in a fruit and flaxseed is a powerhouse for omega-3s and good souce of fiber. Eating 3 bananas a day has been shown to alleviate symptoms of depression/anxiety because of it's ability to increase your dopamine levels. How awesome it that? I add a little more blueberries and flax seed meal to mine because I like a thicker smoothie. I also use the Silk vanilla soy milk but no honey. Most the time I don't freeze the bananas and that doesn't bother me too much. I would recommend trying to use a good plain yogurt, none of that sugary stuff. If you're a big milk drinker try to find stuff low in calories and saturated fat (like Fage) and vice~versa if you're not a big milk drinker. Another recommendation is to add strawberries or a kiwi into the mix. You don't even really taste the kiwi, but that's another great source of omega-3s and antioxidants. I drink this every morning or as a lunch dessert for myself. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
94 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ashley c.

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by GodivaGirl
Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2008
This was quite REFRESHING! I did make a few minor substitutions which included using agave in place of honey, plain yogurt instead of vanilla flavored (too much sugar) and crushed ice to make it really cold. I did use a frozen banana but did not think it needed to thaw before blending. I adding 1 tablespoon of ground flaxseed. I tried many smoothies from this site and will put this one in my smoothie rotations!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
94 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GodivaGirl

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Youngstown, Ohio, USA
Living In: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2008
Delicious! What a great breakfast! I blended everything together at once and it worked just as well. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2008
Awesome! Made it once without the honey and I couldn't even tell the diff. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2008
I didn't have all of the ingredients for this recipe so I used it as a guide. I added one banana(not frozen), 1 cup blueberries, 1 cup fat free vanilla yogurt, 1/2c 1% milk, 1 tsp splenda and a handful of ice. It was so delicious that my kids asked for seconds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by momof2

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fergus, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada

Displaying results 71-80 (of 96) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Strawberry Oatmeal Breakfast Smoothie

See how to make a rich and creamy fruit smoothie with no dairy.

Basic Fruit Smoothie

Fresh fruit, fruit juice, and ice—that’s all there is to it!

B and L's Strawberry Smoothie

Fresh berries, skim milk, plain yogurt, and vanilla make a 5-star smoothie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States