Heavenly Blueberry Smoothie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2011
This recipe is perfect just the way it is, with no changes needed. It's so healthy, this mom of a newborn feels more alive and awake after drinking it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Topeka, Kansas, USA
Living In: Parker, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by jakesmomma
Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2011
These were awesome! My four year old loved them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2011
First time making a smoothie.....we loved it. Great tasting. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ilove2jog

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2010
This is so yummy! I used regular milk and only about 1/4 cup of plain yogurt. Will make again for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Medina, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2010
Yummy! A few changes... We used 2% milk and plain fat-free yogurt. I increased the amount of honey to one tablespoon, measured one tablespoon of flax seeds then ground them and a full cup of blueberries. Banana doesn't need to be thawed. This has a nice consistency with a blast of blueberry flavour. My hubby-to-be didn't like the addition of flax, but I did; it's something you could leave out or replace with something else based on your personal preference. This makes a great base for other fruits or fruit blends. We do like our smoothies thick though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RMSR

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pointe-Claire, Quebec, Canada
Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2010
YUM!! I did not have soy milk so used 1% milk. Also had no honey so did not add it. It was still good without the honey. I did add a few fresh spinach leaves for an extra healty boost and you could not even taste them!! I also used fresh blueberries and kept my banana frozen. My kids thought it tasted like a milkshake :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Sacramento, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Erimess
Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2010
I really felt this was more a 3.5. I liked it fairly well but it wasn't great. I made it again, trying to improve upon my first one. I didn't use the flax meal either time, because -- well, I don't have it and I don't care. (I do smoothies for the fruit.) I also don't have soy milk around. The first time I used (reconstituted) nonfat dry milk, and Dannon yogurt, but it tasted too much like the yogurt and too little like the vanilla. (And I don't like plain yogurt.) So the second time I went with a different brand lowfat vanilla yogurt, and 1% milk. The banana and blueberries both frozen to make it good and cold. And because it calls for vanilla soy milk, I also added 1/4 tsp vanilla and a pinch extra honey. And still thought it was a 3.5. I tried. In the end I upped it to the 4 because it's easy - I like my smoothies SMOOTH so I like things that blend up really well. Oh, and I agree the banana doesn't need thawed. EDIT: I've made this 2 more times, separated in time, using full-fat vanilla yogurt, and both times would have called this closer to a 5. So I'm drawing the conclusion I just don't like the low fat stuff in this. I've also started using the full-fat version because I see nothing wrong with dairy fat and low/non-fat just has too much other garbage in it and I think is less healthy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Erimess

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2010
This was so refreshing and easy to make. My daughter helped making the smoothie and had a blast. We substituted Trix yogurt for the vanilla.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Pensacola, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2010
I felt so guilty drinking this until I remember that I didn't have to! It is a wonderful refreshing drink and it was very filling as well. The only thing I did different was use flax seed oil instead of the meal because that is what I had on hand. Great way to get the flax in to my son. Can't wait to try it with other berries.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Hartford, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Rebekah Rose Hills
Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2010
This is YUMMY! I used light strawberry yogurt instead of vanilla and 1% milk instead of soy, and fresh blueberries instead of frozen since that's what I had. I followed quantities and directions otherwise and this is very good!! It's very thick, so WHEN I make it again I'll probably use a little less yogurt or a little more milk to thin it just a tad (could be because my blueberries were fresh/not frozen?) In any event, the flavor was great!! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rebekah Rose Hills

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Hiram, Georgia, USA

Displaying results 41-50 (of 96) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Celebrate Spring Salads
Celebrate Spring Salads

The most-tender new vegetables are here just in time for early spring salads!

Hearty Potato Soups
Hearty Potato Soups

Creamy, comforting potato soups will warm you up.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Strawberry Oatmeal Breakfast Smoothie

See how to make a rich and creamy fruit smoothie with no dairy.

Basic Fruit Smoothie

Fresh fruit, fruit juice, and ice—that’s all there is to it!

B and L's Strawberry Smoothie

Fresh berries, skim milk, plain yogurt, and vanilla make a 5-star smoothie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States