Heavenly 'Apple of My Thigh' Dessert Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2010
We loved the sweet combo of carmel and apples. VERY ADDICTING! We put in chocolate truffles which was a very nice and sweet substitution.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2010
Excellent dessert. This is NOT just an apple dip for like play group, this is a sugary dessert but tastes great! I agree that it might be great with PB and chopped up PB cups on top! Serve we a tart apple.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Rosemount, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2010
Made this for a large group of ladies & kids, it was a hit! I doubled the recipe, but just eyeballed the toppings. I used mini choc chips & bagged toffee bits. Next time will try the sprite trick for the apples, as the granny smiths were the only ones that didn't turn brown. This will be a regular dish for us as it keeps really well in the fridge.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Olathe, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2010
We've been making this dip for years and it NEVER fails to have the plate clean before you're ready to go home. There is NO need for the added sugar though...kinda overkill. Thanks to the other reviews - I had no idea you could dip apples in sprite to keep them from turning brown!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2009
OH. MY. GOODNESS !! Delicious, and so easy! I used Smuckers hot caramel topping (that's the name - I didn't heat the topping). I made it last night for our Christmas Party and the women in particular went crazy over it! You can go ahead and slice the apples ahead of time...just remember to either dip them in Sprite or keep the slices in cold water with lemon juice added until time to serve.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GolferGirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Columbia, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Bowling Green, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2009
Wow...this flew off the buffet table..people went crazy over it. I made the caramel sryup by boiling a can of sweetened condensed milk (google instructions). A yummy fall treat with fresh picked apples!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tizzylizz
Home Town: Milford, Michigan, USA
Living In: Apex, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2009
I have made this several times for parties and it is always a hit. I also screwed up one time by leaving the pre-mixed cream cheese part at home (sadly bought something else after realizing an hour from home) and now know that just that part makes a really good dip for fresh whole strawberries...had to use it some how!:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MamaMia72

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Milwaukie, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2009
Made this for our college night ministry. The best comment I heard was "Oh wow, it's like a party in my mouth!"
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Becky Fleming See

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Gardner, Kansas, USA
Living In: Ottawa, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2009
YUMMY!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Salem, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2009
this was good but a bit too sweet. also, my apples turned brown as i prepared them earlier and dipped them in sprite as another reviewer suggested. it did not work. will put the apples on the plate and pore the carmel and candy over them then chill and serve to see if that works.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 39) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Easy Apple Crisp

An easy apple crisp made with white cake mix, cinnamon, and butter.

Apple & Cheddar Cheese Soufflés

A feather-light soufflé with caramelized apples and sharp Cheddar.

How to Make Apple Tarte Tatin

See how to make a simple and amazing apple tarte.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States