Heavenly 'Apple of My Thigh' Dessert Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2012
Delicious! For those of you who have trouble with your apples turning brown, they have this stuff called Fruit Fresh. You can put a couple of tablespoons of it in a big bag and put a few tablespoons of water in there with it. Put your apple slices in there and give them a good toss. I've had apples stay good for over 2 days with this stuff. It will give it a bit more of a tart taste but not too much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2011
I made one dish for a party and it was gone before everyone arrived, had to make a second one! Awsome recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2011
AMAZING! Served this at a girl's night party at my house and it was a HIT! Everyone was begging for the recipe and when I told them how simple it was they couldn't believe it. Especially when you can buy the chocolate covered toffee bits to sprinkle over it (they're right next to the chocolate chips in the grocery store!) Based on other reviews I did cut the sugar by 1/2; I was a little hesitant b/c I like stuff really sweet - but it was perfect! Will definitely make again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2011
I know how it got its name! This is a keeper for sure. So easy and very basic ingredients. It would be great with all kind of fruits. You could use any candy bar, oreos, coconut, etc. Toffee happens to be my favorite, so I will stick with the original recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Angie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Murray, Utah, USA
Living In: Cedar Hills, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2011
I made it without the sugar and it was plenty sweet, ate it with granny smiths - would be good with graham cracker sticks too I think. Definitely a go to recipe if you need to put something together fast!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2011
I see that I'm in the minority here, but this was WAY too sweet. It was like eating a bowl of sugar. If I made it again, I would cut way back on the amount of sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2011
This was delicious! I didn't put as much sugar as called for. I tried both and personally, I liked it better dipped with Red Delicious apples rather than green :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gurl_cbl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Windsor, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2011
Awesome dessert! The sugar is not necessary. I made it without and it was plenty sweet. Next time I will make sure I take this out 30 mins ahead of time so the cream cheese has time to soften a little bit. I'm fighting to not each the leftovers that are calling my name from the fridge!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2011
Delish. Took this to a picnic and didn't come home with one bite left on the plate. Didn't change a thing! I dipped my apples in "Sprite" in attempts to keep them from turning brown, it took longer for them to turn brown this way, but still turned brown.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LISA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Alexandria, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2010
Very tasty and easy to put together! Not a lot of work but will make guests smile!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Vernal, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 39) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Apple & Cheddar Cheese Soufflés

A feather-light soufflé with caramelized apples and sharp Cheddar.

Apple Crisp with Oat Topping

Cinnamon apples bake under a simple topping of sweet, buttery oats.

Apple Cinnamon White Cake

See how to make a simple loaf cake layered with apples and cinnamon.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States