Heavenly 'Apple of My Thigh' Dessert Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2014
I feel awful! I was suppose to bring this to our potluck at work and I deliberately "forgot" it at home.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tasha

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Kaukauna, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2014
this is good. however I used brown sugar the second time I made it and it turned out way better. also use a little bit of lemon juice on your apples it keeps them from turning brown.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by denilleklein

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Paisley, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2013
Easy and wonderful. Cut the sugar in half and use Fruit Fresh (found in the canning section of the grocery store), to keep the apples from browning. Everyone at my party ate this, and everyone asked for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Livermore, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2013
Loved it, loved it, loved it. I brought this to a potluck and I got so many compliments. Everyone wanted the recipe. My daughter liked it so much she asked me to make it for her to bring to her boyfriends parents for Thanksgiving. Thanks for a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wakefield, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Windham, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2013
I would rate this 10 stars if I could! Don't even bother adding the sugar called for in the recipe, I didn't and it was perfect. This has to be the easiest most yummiest appetizer I have ever made. Be sure to soak the apple slices in a bowl of cold water with about a tsp. of lemon juice to keep them from turning brown. Everyone loved this. You cannot stop at one. A guaranteed hit for sure! My new favourite. Thank you Kirsten!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kitkat

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2013
Too sweet. The women in my group really liked it. I was not impressed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by myboysmom

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Harrisburg, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Key West, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2012
Super quick & easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2012
OMGosh, so good:) Definitely use green apples like the recipe is written. We tried both -- green won hands down. We used the chopped Toffee bits to save time, but I may buy bars next time to see if there is a difference. I loved the bits, but my son complained that there were too many of them. Personally I loved them, but maybe the bars would leave bigger pieces and "less of them". I'll be serving this at my next get together sooo yummy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2012
To be fair, I'm giving this 5 stars but really thought it was more of a 3 or 4 star recipe.... BUT, I used fat free cream cheese and splenda. I'm thinking full fat or even light cream cheese would have made a difference. I will keep this one around because it was nice to have a decent dip for apples..... def use regular or light cream cheese though because honestly, once you drizzle on all that caramel and top with the Heath bar, what's a few more calories :) OH, and it seemed like too much caramel on the top. Next time I will cut this down a bit and just go by looks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2012
Huge hit!! Everyone commented on it. :) It looks so fun and fancy and yet is so easy to make. Definately will use this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 39) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Apple Crisp

Apple crisp made with white cake mix, sugar, cinnamon and butter.

Apple & Cheddar Cheese Soufflés

A feather-light soufflé with caramelized apples and sharp Cheddar.

Apple Crisp with Oat Topping

Cinnamon apples bake under a simple topping of sweet, buttery oats.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States