Heavenly Angel Food Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2012
Am I the only one who had a problem with this, as it was written? I understood that I was to sift flour and confectioners' sugar together 3 times. Then I was supposed to add the sugar to the egg whites, and later fold in the flour mixture, which I understood contained both the sugar and the flour!! How exactly was this supposed to be done?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2012
I usually try not to alter the ingredients but I tried it with all purpose flour and today I used cake flour. I have to admit, using cake flour made the cake lighter and overall a much nicer consistency. This recipe is amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2012
My family devoured this but I found it a little too sweet. I did leave out the almond extract and used real vanilla as opposed to the extract. I highly recommend shifting the flour three times as opposed to only once, it truly does make the world of difference. I also made a lemon/lime glaze over the cake then topped it with some candied lemon/lime zest. - ENJOY
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2012
This cake has awesome flavor!! I made it for our Easter Sunday dinner at my Mom's house and everyone loved it. Next time I make it, I will do as the recipe says and "gently fold" in the flour mixture. I used the mixer to slowly mix it in and it made the cake a little heavier. And it didn't rise quite as high. But it was my mistake, not this recipe's! Do as it says and you will have an excellent cake. Also, my mom told me some tips about angel food--don't use plastic and no grease of any kind. I'm definitely making this again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2012
Excellent flavor and texture. So much better that store bought!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Sunnyvale, California, USA
Living In: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2012
Can I cut down the sugar to just 1/2 cup? Will that be more difficult to beat the egg white until stiff peaks?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2012
Tasty cake, but really not what you expect of angel food cake. This tasted heavily of eggs, and though I whipped the white and sugar til stiff peaks formed, the texture was still a little dense. Not very sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2012
This cake is amazing, so much better than store bought. Be very careful that only egg whites get in your batter. Everyone will rave about your baking!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2012
Crazy easy!!! And sooooo good! Never even made a box angel food cake before, and don't think I ever will now that I have this recipe! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ALMEMOORE

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Lansing, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2012
This recipe was wonderful! I made egg noodles and had 12 egg whites to use, so I made an angel food cake! I was in the mood for cinnamon, so I added 2 tsp of cinnamon to the flour/powder sugar mixture. It turned out super moist! I took leftovers to school and put them in the teacher's lounge. They were gone in 20 minutes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 472) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States