Heavenly Angel Food Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2014
I have used this recipe over and over and it always turns out perfect. After reading other reviews I decided to take the shortcut and use egg whites out of the carton....BIG MISTAKE. The texture and look of the cake was completely different. I could tell from the runny consistency of the egg whites in the carton that it was just not going to be the same, but did not have 11 eggs on hand. Hopefully the cake still tastes okay.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2014
Made due to having lots of extra egg whites after all my Christmas baking. Super delicious!! My hubby who never eats cake had seconds!!! Thought I messed it up due to sifting granulated sugar with flour and powdered sugar and accidentally breaking a yolk in with the egg whites but turned out absolutely fantastic!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2013
I never knew I could make such an easy homemade version of angel food cake. spongy and delicious. one of my husband's favorite recipes. thank you so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2012
My husband and son can't get enough of this cake.It is the best Angel food cake this family has ever had.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2012
YUM! This was FANTASTIC - a perfect pairing for fresh strawberries and a splash of chocolate balsamic vinegar (my latest indulgence)! I'm not a baker at heart but the WWW is an invaluable tool. :) Here's what I learned: a) start with ROOM TEMPERATURE eggs (Egg Beaters 100% whites work GREAT, btw), b) you MUST sift your sugar / flour mixture (some recipes instruct to sift up to 8 X's!), c) take special care to NOT over fold your beaten whites / flour mixture, d) DO NOT grease your tube pan & e) IMMEDIATELY invert your cake to cool. Now here's WHY some tips are critical. Most importantly, you must NOT over fold your batter! Gently re-sift your flour mixture onto the surface of your beaten whites (just a light dusting), fold, turn a quarter, etc., etc. You want to incorporate the flour with as FEW motions as possible. This will ensure a light & airy cake! Ditto for how you transfer the batter to your baking pan. Add in dollops, resisting the urge to smooth the surface (this also helps maintain the cake's light texture)! And, whatever you do, DO NOT grease your pan!!! Your cake needs a surface to stick to. the batter will "climb" as it bakes. If your pan is greased, it can't do its magic and your cake will sink! NOTE: I'm not sure how brocker beat her eggs with a flat beater.... I have a KA and ALWAYS use the whisk attachment (and my user's manual recommends that attachment). Any other attachment will NOT work! Thanks for sharing your recipe, Fayrene. I LOVE this cake! :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef Mickey (aka Mickey)

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: De Soto, Missouri, USA
Living In: Elgin, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2012
Easy and delicious
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2012
This cake was great! It's a family favorite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2012
followed recipe exactly, which i never do. made it for a friends bday. his mom made it every year for him, but she passed away not too long ago. he said this was just as good as hers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MamaPulk

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Willimantic, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Groton, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2012
Mine didn't rise as high as I think it should have. Used organic eggs and followed the recipe to a T. I also think the cake serves 16 at the very most. My pieces were small.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2012
I just finished making my first angel food cake using egg whites left over from making two freezers of ice crealm! Great recipe. I have no angel food pan and had to use two 8 1/2 by 4 inch loaf pans. I inverted the cakes by using vegetable cans under the handles of the loaf pans. Cakes look and taste great. I've got to get me an angel food cake pan. No more purchased cakes or mixes here.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 472) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States