Heather's Fried Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2014
I tried a version of this today, just made mine simpler to do. Dipped chicken thighs in egg and battered in plain flour. Let sit, covered with napkins for maybe 15 minutes. Deep fried at 375 degrees for 25 minutes. I added the salt, pepper and paprika last.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Warrior, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Jennifer
Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2014
I had the chicken in the brine for almost two days (chaotic week) and I think the brining + buttermilk is excellent. Only issue I had the spice mix wasn't to my liking. I added a little cayenne pepper but it wasn't enough - it still needed something. So, prep method and cooking the chicken is great but will have to tinker with the spices next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Urbana, Maryland, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2014
This is the best fried chicken recipe out their. Lots of flavor and extremely crispy. No changes made.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Union, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Rahway, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2013
Followed recipe exactly-ish. Instead of the chicken seasoning I used Old Bay. Really great fried chicken. All the neighbors and family loved it. Thanks Heather!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MrBadCookWhoLikes2Cook

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Wichita, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by CollegeCuisine9
Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2013
I really like the method that this recipe uses. However, I found the spice ratios to be pretty wacky. Also, I like my fried chicken a little spicy, so I added cayenne. Otherwise, really great fried chicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2013
Made this for Sunday supper and it's a hit! I only had blsl thighs but they were just delicious. Thank you Heather for this great, simple recipe. I think the brining really made it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cindy in Pensacola

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Stockton, California, USA
Living In: Pensacola, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2013
I love this recipe. It must be keeping the chicken so cold that gives such great results. It was the first time, after years of trying, that my chicken was cooked through, juicy, and keep the batter on. I wasn't as excited about the spice mix and, even with 1/2 the salt, it would have been too much. I'll work on that part. The method listed here is perfect. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sebastian, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2013
I learned to do chicken this way as a young girl, and it's nice to know fried chicken "still" lives on! However, you might want to put the "dry" mixture in a ziplock bag, and shake it. We used paper lunch bags way back when, but I still hope the shaking " kills" those calories !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA
Living In: Gilbert, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Cookin'Cyn
Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2013
I'm not a big fan of fried anything, but hubs had a hankering for some good homemade fried chicken. This recipe caught my eye because it employs a simple brining process, followed by a soak in buttermilk. Braving the hot oil, I dredged and cooked the pieces until they were a nice golden brown. We both enjoyed this very much, and are looking forward to the rest for lunch. The mess was well worth it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cookin'Cyn

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lancaster, California, USA
Living In: Salmon, Idaho, USA
Photo by Darquequeen15
Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2012
Not bad for my first time frying! Easy, step-by-step directions. I did brine the meat for 2 hours in a salt and lemon herb bath before cooking. (suggestion made by others) Will definitely make this again. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Darquequeen15

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 15) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Buttermilk Fried Chicken

Chef John’s buttermilk fried chicken is impossibly crispy and tasty.

Southern Fried Chicken

Watch how to make this top-rated classic.

Garlic Chicken Fried Chicken

See how to make garlicky chicken breasts cooked chicken fried steak-style.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States