Heather's Crawfish Etouffee Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2014
A big hit with the 40 people I cook for everyday...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2014
Quick and easy with great taste....I changed a few things added Tony's Cajun seasoning, added a chopped fresh tomato when I was simmering the rest of the ingredients. Boy was it a winner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2010
I had an etouffee dish in Houston 10 years ago. I have always ordered etouffee when I could find it on the menu at home in Ohio, it was never the same. This was really close, so happy I tried this recipe. Did some tweaking, can't find real crawfish in Ohio so I substituted Langostinos. I don't have cajun seasoning so I used Old Bay sprinkled on plus a dash or two of cayenne and a little pepper. Tasted and thought I needed more pepper, accidentally opened the wrong side and dumped a good teaspoon of pepper into the dish, it was perfect! I like spicy but not super hot. I used the mushroom garlic soup and used the minced roasted garlic in a jar. This was fabulous! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2010
This was great! I left out the black/cayenne pepper and used Tony's cajun seasoning in it's place. We are used to more gravy so we added a can of cream of celery soup also. We cooked our rice in a rice pot/cooker. This will def be added to our regular menu. Would be good with shrimp also! Thanks!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2009
Very Good, the only change I made was to add Rotel-Mild. My wife says it is the best she has ever had, can't get enough. Very good over a Rib-eye.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2009
This was a very quick and easy etouffee recipe. My husband and I had to add some hot sauce to it, but it was perfect for my 6 yr. old.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2009
I followed this to the letter, except I doubled the recipe. If you do choose to double it, do NOT add double the water, just add as needed. Mine came out too watery, so it didn't have as much flavor as it should. I think this did need some Cajun spice added to it. I sprinkled Zatarain's Cajun season blend on individual servings. Good basic recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2009
Very Good!!! Quick and simple. I used Tony's seasoning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2008
Very simple to make with only about ten minutes of prep work. I ended up using about 1/2 teaspoon of cayenne, with 1/2 tsp pepper/salt. Delicious, and well received at dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BeneathArthursSeat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2007
this was pretty good, i too am a louisiana girl, from New Orleans and i added a dash of crab boil and Tony C's to this recipe. it was pretty good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by crl's mom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Braithwaite, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Cajun Crawfish and Shrimp Etouffe

An authentic Louisiana recipe for spicy Cajun stew.

Crawfish Chowder

See the simple secrets to making quick, creamy crawfish chowder.

Chef John's Shrimp Etouffee

Discover the tricks to making amazing Creole shrimp with a flavorful gravy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States