Heather's Cilantro, Black Bean, and Corn Salsa Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2012
Not a huge fan of beans, but this is great! And healthy! I did follow some of the other reviews and added 2 packets of taco seasoning and garbanzo beans. I had tomatoes on hand, so I used them instead of canned (took me about 2 1/2 to make it the consistency I like). I also skipped the onion due to personal preference. I planned on adding jalapeno for spice but decided to add sriracha (my weakness) instead, and it took quite a bit, to get it to my spicy level, but its good. I wish I had another avocado to add, and I did add 2/3 c lime juice and a little extra olive oil. Bringing it to a work potluck tomorrow, but I don't care if no one likes it, because I have no guilt eating this very healthy snack!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Megan

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Nimrod, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Ames, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2012
Seems like a lot of work but the end results is amazing. I make it every time we go camping. It's definitley a crowd pleaser!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2012
Excellent salsa! I made a few modifications. I only used 1 can of black beans (seasoned), and 1 can of sweet corn. I added a fresh diced tomato instead of canned, and a jalapeño pepper for some kick. I omitted the onions, and bell peppers, olive oil and since my boys don't like avocado I served the avocado on the sided sliced with a pinch of cayenne pepper and fresh lime juice. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2012
So good! Add some jalapenos for heat. Fresh tomatoes if you like them. My husband does not so left them out. Yummy !!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2012
this is FANTASTIC! I have made this for parties several times and get great compliments on it each time. SOOOOO GOOD!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SCALLETTI

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2012
My Super Bowl Hit- After reading reviews, I used 1 can of original Rotel tomatoes instead of tomatoes in directions, plus 1 heaping teaspoon of Penzey's Arizona Dreaming spice blend (salt free taco seasoning). I let salsa sit overnight in the refrigerator and then I added the avocado right before serving. People ate as a salsa dip, as a side salad, and luckily for me they even enjoyed with the slower cooker chicken tortilla soup (also from this website). Will make again soon and thanks for the great recipe! Oh- Used Bush’s black beans: 1 can seasoned black beans and 1 can regular black beans. Couldn’t tell a difference but had to see, right?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2012
Halved the recipe and used 1 small can Rotel with chilis and one small can of "summer crisp" corn. One can of black beans instead of two. Did not add avocado, green onion or olive oil. Used all the juice of one lime. Added a little salt, pepper, cumin, and red pepper. Took one bite and said "Wow!" Everyone loved it! LOVE, LOVE, LOVE it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jencramer65
Living In: Findlay, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2012
So delicious and healthy! I've made this twice in the past week and have received rave reviews (and a lot of "can you email me the recipe?")
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2011
OMG! This is great! It was much better than I expected and all that I hoped for. Also very fresh and filling. We added a tablespoon of tobasco hot sauce to give it a little kick which was great and not at all over powering. This was supposed to be the appetizer but it was so good it became the main focus at dinner time. My family loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2011
This was great. My son, who is a salsa fanatic, said it is the best salsa he's ever had.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Spokane, Washington, USA
Living In: Medical Lake, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 247) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Heather's Cilantro, Black Bean, and Corn Salsa

A lively corn, avocado, and bean relish great with chips or as a side dish.

Black Bean and Corn Salad II

See how to make a fresh, colorful Mexican-inspired salad and side dish.

Black Bean and Corn Quesadillas

This Mexican favorite can be made easily for a quick weeknight dinner.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States