Heather's Cilantro, Black Bean, and Corn Salsa Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2011
YUM! Very good recipe, dont like avacado so we didnt add that and we were missing the onion...added seeded jalapeno though (which I would have left some of the seeds, not nearly as hot as was hoping.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2011
Excellent! Add cumin, salt, jalapeno, fresh tomatoes, more lime and avocado. No evoo. YUM.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Rock_lobster
Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2011
Heather's Cilantro, Black Bean & Corn Salsa Haiku: "So super yummy. (I forgot avocado.) Colorful & great!" I halved the recipe, but now wish that I hadn't b/c I'm sure this is one of those salsas that just gets better over time as the flavors mingle. I didn't intend to omit the avocado; just completely spaced on buying one, but I'm sure this would be even better w/ it. It's perfect in those tortilla chip "scoops", but just as tasty gobbled w/ a spoon. Just a fantastic summery recipe that I know I'll make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rock_lobster

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Living In: Braselton, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2011
Very tasty and a party hit. I used 2 cans of yellow corn instead of white. I used a couple fresh romas because I had them. I went very light on the onion and didn't have any bell pepper. Used fresh lime juice, no olive oil, and left avocado on the side to accomodate a few guests. It was gobbled up and the next day we used leftovers to make burritos.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2011
This is amazing with fresh tomatoes instead of the canned, even without the avocado (which I didn't have available).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2011
I made this salsa for a huge BBQ with 125 people. I used the 72 servings and had more than enough. I love love love this recipe although the red onion was a bit overpowering so next time I will reduce or omit it from the recipe. I am planning to make another big batch of it and can it so I have some in the winter, too! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Magootsie

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2011
This is a fantastic recipe! I have made it for several occasions and it disappears in minutes! I did make a few modifications but have made it as is also - I used frozen corn, rather than canned corn and I used fresh tomatoes in the summer instead of canned tomatoes. Hope your family enjoys this as much as mine!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2011
Tried this a couple weeks ago to take to a cook out. Everyone seemed to like it. It seemed to be missing something for me. Perhaps the cilantro as I didn't have any and used parsley flakes instead. Will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by scooter2

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: South Bend, Indiana, USA
Living In: Canton, Illinois, USA
Photo by Dianne
Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2011
This was great! Served this with tortilla scoop chips and it was very addictive. I used only one can of corn, and one can of beans. I also subbed green bell pepper for red since that what I had on hand. I did use the Italian-style tomatoes, but I didn't notice the salsa tasting Italian-ish, like other reviewers have said. It has great flavor and textures and I highly recommend!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dianne

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Iowa City, Iowa, USA
Living In: St. Cloud, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2011
Excellent basic recipe. I used fresh tomatoes, added a jalapeno and some cumin. Also used more lime juice and no oil or avocado. Thanks, Heather!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Reston, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 243) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Heather's Cilantro, Black Bean, and Corn Salsa

A lively corn, avocado, and bean relish great with chips or as a side dish.

Black Bean and Corn Salad II

See how to make a fresh, colorful Mexican-inspired salad and side dish.

Black Bean and Corn Quesadillas

This Mexican favorite can be made easily for a quick weeknight dinner.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States