Hearty Whole Grain Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2013
Really tasty ... Made gluten free with bob’s red mill cup for cup all purpose flour. I tried them in paper cups and just in the tins and I found that the muffins baked without the paper liners rose more. Nice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gabrielglimpse

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2013
These are really, really good! Dense & moist & just sweet enough with the 2/3c sugar (I used 1/2 splenda). Also used powdered egg whites (out of eggs!) and flax meal in place of wheat bran & bran cereal (didn't have them). They are delicious & actually are a bit filling, so I can use them for a quick breakfast. I will be making these often! Thanks for this very creative & healthy recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Anaheim, California, USA
Living In: El Paso, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2013
Takes quite a bit of assembling if you don't have all the healthy grains but well worth it. My New Year's resolution was to exercise more and aim for a healthier diet. Went out and bought toasted wheat germ, wheat bran and bran cereal. These muffins were DELICIOUS! Normally, bran muffins can be so dry but not these. Make sure you cool them somewhat before trying to take the papers off, they are a little sticky.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: Pembine, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2012
Fantastic muffins! I was looking for a healthy muffin recipe, and happened across this one. I'm glad I did! I made a few changes and modifications though to make it just that much more healthy and to accommodate with what was in my cupboard. I didn't use any white flour, I use all whole wheat. You can add lecithin and it will be just as soft. I didn't even use that though. I didn't have any wheat bran, so I just doubled the toasted wheat germ. I added 3 heaping tablespoons of rolled oats and about 1 heaping tablespoon of chia seed. I used the whole egg to boost the nutrient and protein content. I substituted 1/2 of the vegetable oil with unsweetened applesauce. I did not sprinkle any sugar on top. Next time I'd like to add ground flax seed and maybe some walnuts. I was pretty skeptical of the kiddos enjoying them, but the 3 year old ate at least 3, the 5 year old ate about 4, the teenagers were surprised to actually enjoy them so much, I ate...too many... . Great recipe! Thanks for sharing!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2014
We really liked these! I used natural yogurt (but fruit flavoured would be good also for next time), 3 cups of grated zucchini and one and a half large bananas. These were very moist. I piled the muffin cups high with the batter but still had some left over, so cooked it in a loaf pan for about 35 mins so it made thin bars which were yummy too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kimberly

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2012
Lots of ingredients but really good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Leduc, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2011
These are excellent - but you MUST add 2/3 c. granulated sugar to the dry ingredients. I WROTE this recipe and forgot this on the list. Sent the info. to the website - but they didn't correct the mistake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2011
Some of these ingredients are quite expensive if one is making these for the first time. I bought the non-fat dry milk powder and the applesauce, but I had to wing it on a couple items. I had wheat germ but no bran so I just doubled the germ. I didn't have any cream of wheat (don't care for it) so I used grits instead. I also didn't have any bran cereal so I used Fiber One. I added some blueberries and raspberries to the mix as well, and used all white whole wheat flour. These little darlings came out wonderfully! And I didn't even add the sugar the author says was left out of the recipe in error (I didn't see the post until too late). They really didn't need it. I ate four of them as soon as they were cool enough. I think I'll just go on leaving the sugar out. Thanks so much for the post, babooleena, these were terrific!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dianemwj

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Burbank, California, USA
Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2012
I'm giving this five stars because I think that, with the added sweetness that the author suggested in their review, this bread would be perfect. I tried omitting the sugar to make the bread healthier and it was still tasty, but it felt like something was missing. Next time I'll add a bit of stevia or agave to make the bread sweet but still healthy. I also used white whole wheat flour instead of all-purpose (healthier), used 3/4 cup of wheat bran (didn't have Cream of Wheat or bran cereal so I upped the amount of wheat bran to compensate), and used one chopped apple instead of raisins (hate the things!) I'm looking forward to trying this bread again with a bit more sweetness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by pomplemousse
Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2013
pretty good. It is really hearty--you can taste the whole grains, in my opinion, but I think that just adds to the flavor. I think I'd like a tad more carrot and raisins in this, so I'd increase that next time. I didn't actually use raisins--we are out, but subbed craisins, of which we have two huge bags. Not sure what that is all about, but it's tasty with that, and raisins wouled likely be good, too. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pomplemousse

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pendleton, Oregon, USA
Living In: Dumfries, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 11) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Whole Grain Waffles

See how truly delicious whole grain waffles can be.

Low-Fat Blueberry Bran Muffins

These muffins are so moist and flavorful, you won't believe they're healthy, too!

Classic Bran Muffins

These muffins are full of fiber, yet are also moist and very tasty.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States