Hearty Wheat Yeast Rolls Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2001
This was a really easy resipe, especially since I am an amateur baker! I actually "veganized" this recipe by using soymilk and margarine instead, and they still worked out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2007
I chose this recipe from many available online because it didn't contain a lot of sugar or honey. This makes a nice savory roll when a little garlic powder and rosemary is added. I also brushed with olive oil instead of butter and salted the tops. Next time I might double the recipe to make sandwich rolls. An easy recipe to follow and fast for a yeast bread. Every element performed as expected and the result tastes very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2001
I have been looking for an easy or quick whole wheat dinner roll recipe for several years, I guess I will have to continue looking. although the recipe is easy and quick, the resulting product leaves something to be desired, they were dry and a little doughy. I live at high altitude and I did not do any adjustments to the receipe, I wanted to try it with out adding extra this and that and adjusting the leavening. Next time I will try adjusting for altitude and do a follow-up review.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2008
Very simple recipe and like the idea of mno molasses, but I think an egg was omitted from your recipe. This makes for a better roll. Tried both ways and the egg makes a great difference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2011
I use Robin Hood Multigrain flour and they turn out perfect. The 1/2 white/whole wheat are rather bland. I am not experienced enough with bread to know what to add or change to improve on the flavour for the original recipe (more salt?). But with the multigrain flour they do not need any adjustment. Besides we love the crunchy grains.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LottieB

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Vermilion, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2008
the rolls were great, but your timing is off! You said that in total, this recipe is ready in 16 minutes, when it really takes over an hour and a half! You may want to fix this. I will always make this bread though, its very soft!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cookie

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2008
Very good, very easy, and very healthy! I used all whole wheat flour except for substituting 1/2 cup of wheat germ. I sweetened it with Splenda and used whole wheat yeast. They came out dense and delicious. Perfect with soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2008
Balanced wheat taste and easy! Not too sweet and not overpowering on the wheat. Be creative and top with seasonings that appeal to you. We chose to sprinkle the butter (I used olive oil) tops with thyme and garlic powder. Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Three Lakes, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Taylors, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2010
Amazing! This was my first attempt making homemade yeast rolls and this recipe was very simple and forgiving. The rolls were delicious and I wouldn't change a thing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bella888

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2011
omg these just came out of my oven. Amazing light and moist. I usesd 2 cups "king arther white whole wheat" and 1cup regular flour and some fresh italian herbs. I cant stop eating them. I will def be making these again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 20) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Quick Yeast Rolls

These tasty rolls come together quickly--and disappear just as fast!

Sweet Dinner Rolls

Use a bread machine to make fast work of this tasty dough. Yum!

Chef John’s Whole Wheat Ciabatta

See how to make a delicious whole-wheat version of classic ciabatta bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States