Hearty Wheat Yeast Rolls Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2012
I made this roll recipe with my Kitchen Aid mixer. I proofed the yeast with the warm water/milk and the three tablespoons sugar for ten minutes, then added the melted butter, salt and the flours. I did need a touch more flour to get the dough to form a firm enough ball to jump on the bread hook. I kneaded the dough for five minutes with the bread hook, then set it to rise for an hour in a covered greased bowl. I formed the dough into 1/3 cup bread balls and plopped them into greased muffin tins, covered them with plastic wrap and let them double again. Baked at 400*, these rolls were done at 12 minutes. I did NOT brush the rolls with the melted butter until they came out of the oven. This is a decent wheat roll recipe. It's just sweet enough without going overboard but it's a little lacking in flavor. For me, a wheat roll is much better when using honey for a sweetener or when there's an egg added. I don't know that I'd make this roll recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2012
Made the rolls tonight,,not as tasty as I hoped. Kinda flat in taste. I think it needed molasses. I was able to taste way more of the real butter I spread on after baking then the roll its self.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristie Long

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2012
I doubled the recipe, but otherwise followed directions exactly. They were loved by the whole family, including the 2 that don't love wheat breads. My husband told me to make sure that I bookmarked this recipe. It was perfect with our stew.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2011
I use Robin Hood Multigrain flour and they turn out perfect. The 1/2 white/whole wheat are rather bland. I am not experienced enough with bread to know what to add or change to improve on the flavour for the original recipe (more salt?). But with the multigrain flour they do not need any adjustment. Besides we love the crunchy grains.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LottieB

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Vermilion, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2011
omg these just came out of my oven. Amazing light and moist. I usesd 2 cups "king arther white whole wheat" and 1cup regular flour and some fresh italian herbs. I cant stop eating them. I will def be making these again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2010
Amazing! This was my first attempt making homemade yeast rolls and this recipe was very simple and forgiving. The rolls were delicious and I wouldn't change a thing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bella888

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2008
Times have been adjusted to include prep and rising times.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2008
the rolls were great, but your timing is off! You said that in total, this recipe is ready in 16 minutes, when it really takes over an hour and a half! You may want to fix this. I will always make this bread though, its very soft!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cookie

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2008
These were pretty good. I am not very good at making bread, but they were pretty easy. They didn't get quite as fluffy...they seemed a bit dense. But the flavor was great. I brushed with olive oil and sprinkled parsley and garlic salt on. My husband and kids really enjoyed them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2008
Very simple recipe and like the idea of mno molasses, but I think an egg was omitted from your recipe. This makes for a better roll. Tried both ways and the egg makes a great difference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 19) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Quick Yeast Rolls

These tasty rolls come together quickly--and disappear just as fast!

Chef John’s Whole Wheat Ciabatta

See how to make a delicious whole-wheat version of classic ciabatta bread.

Sweet Dinner Rolls

Use a bread machine to make fast work of this tasty dough. Yum!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States