Hearty Wheat Yeast Rolls Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2001
This was a really easy resipe, especially since I am an amateur baker! I actually "veganized" this recipe by using soymilk and margarine instead, and they still worked out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2007
I chose this recipe from many available online because it didn't contain a lot of sugar or honey. This makes a nice savory roll when a little garlic powder and rosemary is added. I also brushed with olive oil instead of butter and salted the tops. Next time I might double the recipe to make sandwich rolls. An easy recipe to follow and fast for a yeast bread. Every element performed as expected and the result tastes very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2001
I have been looking for an easy or quick whole wheat dinner roll recipe for several years, I guess I will have to continue looking. although the recipe is easy and quick, the resulting product leaves something to be desired, they were dry and a little doughy. I live at high altitude and I did not do any adjustments to the receipe, I wanted to try it with out adding extra this and that and adjusting the leavening. Next time I will try adjusting for altitude and do a follow-up review.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2008
Very simple recipe and like the idea of mno molasses, but I think an egg was omitted from your recipe. This makes for a better roll. Tried both ways and the egg makes a great difference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2011
I use Robin Hood Multigrain flour and they turn out perfect. The 1/2 white/whole wheat are rather bland. I am not experienced enough with bread to know what to add or change to improve on the flavour for the original recipe (more salt?). But with the multigrain flour they do not need any adjustment. Besides we love the crunchy grains.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lottie Gilpin Bardoel

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Vermilion, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2008
the rolls were great, but your timing is off! You said that in total, this recipe is ready in 16 minutes, when it really takes over an hour and a half! You may want to fix this. I will always make this bread though, its very soft!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cookie

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2008
Very good, very easy, and very healthy! I used all whole wheat flour except for substituting 1/2 cup of wheat germ. I sweetened it with Splenda and used whole wheat yeast. They came out dense and delicious. Perfect with soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2008
Balanced wheat taste and easy! Not too sweet and not overpowering on the wheat. Be creative and top with seasonings that appeal to you. We chose to sprinkle the butter (I used olive oil) tops with thyme and garlic powder. Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Three Lakes, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Taylors, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2010
Amazing! This was my first attempt making homemade yeast rolls and this recipe was very simple and forgiving. The rolls were delicious and I wouldn't change a thing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bella888

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2012
I made this roll recipe with my Kitchen Aid mixer. I proofed the yeast with the warm water/milk and the three tablespoons sugar for ten minutes, then added the melted butter, salt and the flours. I did need a touch more flour to get the dough to form a firm enough ball to jump on the bread hook. I kneaded the dough for five minutes with the bread hook, then set it to rise for an hour in a covered greased bowl. I formed the dough into 1/3 cup bread balls and plopped them into greased muffin tins, covered them with plastic wrap and let them double again. Baked at 400*, these rolls were done at 12 minutes. I did NOT brush the rolls with the melted butter until they came out of the oven. This is a decent wheat roll recipe. It's just sweet enough without going overboard but it's a little lacking in flavor. For me, a wheat roll is much better when using honey for a sweetener or when there's an egg added. I don't know that I'd make this roll recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 20) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Ham, Lamb, and More
Easter Ham, Lamb, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Quick Yeast Rolls

These tasty rolls come together quickly--and disappear just as fast!

Sweet Dinner Rolls

Use a bread machine to make fast work of this tasty dough. Yum!

Chef John’s Whole Wheat Ciabatta

See how to make a delicious whole-wheat version of classic ciabatta bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States