Hearty Vegetable Lasagna Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2013
this recipe sounds very good...saved it to try in the future. But....didn't anyone else notice that the veggie layer was never mentioned in the instructions for putting the lasagna together?? I suppose you add the veggies in layers between the noodles/sauce and ricotta mixture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2013
I suggest replacing green pepper with Pablano or Jalapeno pepper. I use a stalk of bok choy in my lasagna. Black olives are a great addition, along with the use of olive oil. The choice of spaghetti sauce makes an enormous difference, Classico having a good mushroom and black olive sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MountainMan

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2013
This was very tasty, even using sauce-in-a-jar (though this wasn't the cheap stuff, it's still not homemade). However, I get the idea that this was either intended to be made in two batches or the person writing it out had thrown stuff together without measuring (which is fine) and then guessed how much they used after the fact. One pound of lasagna is a LOT of lasagna, as is 56 oz of pasta sauce. The ricotta mixture in this proportion is not nearly enough, and I'm not entirely sure if drugs were involved in the instruction to layer the bottom of the pan with an extra cup of tomato sauce that wasn't called for in the ingredients list. Whether or not the author intended it to mean you make the first layer out of the sauce you just made or not, that's what I'm going to do in future. The extra tomato sauce just was too much liquid. As it was, my poor Pyrex pan was overflowing, and I still had half the lasagna noodles, to boot. Not a great thing to have left over. BUT, with a few adjustments -- mainly in the amount of pasta, ignoring that instruction to add tomato sauce out of nowhere, and upping the amount of ricotta mixture -- this is absolutely a good dish. For what it's worth, I also added a medium-sized zucchini to the vegetables. Added some great texture! Definitely added to the dinner rotation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Waco, Texas, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2013
I made a few alterations but used this as the general guide. I took a few ideas from other posters and this is what I changed. For the sauce: no bell pepper and no mushrooms, instead I used broccoli, zucchini and carrots (3/4 c each) . I also added 1/4c red wine and an extra tsp basil and parsley, and 1/4- 1/2 tsp salt (to make up for the extra veggies). I only use 1 and a half jars of sauce so it is a little thicker. I had used summer squash in the sauce but it was better without it in case you were thinking of trying summer squash. For the ricotta mixture: I added spinach (I use thawed frozen spinach), 1 TB dried parsley and I mixed the 1/2C Parm in with the ricotta. Also, I use whole wheat noodles and only 9 noodles per batch and there isn't any cheese/sauce left over so I don't know how/if people use more than 9 lasagna noodles. People have RAVED about this lasagna and it is even better the 2nd-3rd days, after the flavors have really blended. HIGHLY RECOMMEND!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2013
I love this recipe! I started adding fresh chopped tomatoes as the top layer before adding the last layer of cheese. They add such a fresh kick!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2013
This lasagna makes for a fabulous dining experience! My husband, who does not care for meatless dinners, loved it and had two giant pieces! Our guests all asked for the recipe! (You know it's good when your company heads out the door with recipe in hand!!) I added cooked spinach to the ricotta mix and added a carrot and small zuchinni to the the list of vegetables. I made my own tomato sauce, so that made it really tasty. A friend of ours is Italian and he says that lasagna is like building a sandwich. You can add any combination of vegetables that you like. Thanks to Sue! This will be a family favourite!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2013
This recipe is really delicious and flexible. I usually add a lot more veggies than it calls for--red pepper, zucchini, carrots. It always comes out great and tasting exactly like lasagna should taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2013
Love this recipe! This was the first time I made lasagna and decided to use the oven-ready lasagna noodles to cut down on prep time (make sure you bake it covered with aluminum foil for the first 30 minutes, then remove, top with cheese and bake for the last 10 minutes). Like most of the other reviewers, I subbed the mushrooms for squash. I also added a few extra flavors - oregano, red pepper flakes, a touch of white wine and onion powder. The consistency and taste was perfection - and neither of us missed the meat at all. This makes for awesome leftovers, too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2013
This lasagna was great. Next time I might cut down on the amount of sauce and add some more veggies!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2013
This recipe was absolutely wonderful. We served this to 150 at a 5th grade banquet and received wonderful comments. The only switch we made was using cottage cheese instead of ricotta, we sauted the veggies in real butter and used garlic powder instead of cloves.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kara McGhee

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 518) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Hearty Vegetable Lasagna

Layers of flavors make this 5-star lasagna a hearty hit.

Cheesy Vegetable Lasagna

See how to make a cheesy, saucy vegetarian lasagna that’s loaded with veggies.

Fresh Herb & Vegetable Chicken Lasagna

See how to make a prize-winning veggie, chicken, and herb lasagna.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States