Hearty Vegetable Lasagna Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Photo by Cheffster
Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2013
Great lasagna. Used my own sauce though since I had all day to cook. I actually prefer vegetable over meat lasagna after making this today.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cheffster

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Plymouth, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2013
My husband and I have recently taken meat out of our diet (no chicken, beef, pork, lamb...all that stuff) and I've been looking for meals that will satisfy and fill him up as he is having the most difficulty enjoying this meat free experience. I stumbled across this recipe and since lasagne is his favorite and the reviews were so great, I gave it a try. I pretty much followed the recipe exactly. I may have just added a few more spices to the sauce, but it was an absolute hit!! Even my 2 1/2 year old loved it! My husband has already requested that I make it again. I must also mention that I thought the recipe was a little skimpy on the ricotta so I'll use a little more next time. I also used Barilla's no bake lasagne noodles which makes life soooo much easier. Next time, I think I will add more vegetables (carrots, spinach, brocolli..)! Thanks for a GREAT recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2013
This was the best vegetable lasagne I have ever eaten! I added parsley to the ricotta mix - this was the only tweak I made. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2013
This was the first time I have ever made a vegetable lasagna that wasn't made with a white sauce. I really enjoyed this lasagna and I didn't miss the meat at all. I did make some changes to the recipe to fit my taste: used no-boil lasagna (you can also use regular lasagna-there is no need to boil it as long as you layer ANY lasagna with generous amounts of sauce). I added shredded carrots and added thawed very well drained frozen chopped spinach to the ricotta (I always use whole milk ricotta-better texture and flavor) mixture as well as a little bit of nutmeg (trust me on the nutmeg). I cut all the veggies fairly large because I wanted the veggies to still have a tiny bit of crunch as well as to be visible in the sauce. I made my own tomato sauce as well, which probably ended up to yield more than 2 jars, but that's ok-I like extra sauce and it also helps to cook the un-boiled pasta. This is a good recipe with the changes I made, I think that even without changing it to my liking, it would still be great. Will make again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mary Pecbot Brown

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Mesa, Arizona, USA
Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2013
Very good Recipe for an easy to make vegetable lasagna. A few changes I made were: -oven roasted half cup of carrots, half cup of turnip, half cup of brussel sprouts and added to the sauce -chopped up a cup of baby spinach in food processor and added to the ricotta/mozzarella mixture -prepared the lasagna and let it sit in the fridge over night for the flavors to settle. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by djwalkie

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2012
Great Recipe I change it up just a little I added yellow and red peppers, and Italian seasoning to the mushroom mixture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2012
This was absolutely delicious. My boyfriend loved it. I will definitely be making this again. It's pretty simple. Takes a little longer to make but worth it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2012
My husband and I are both vegetarians from childhood. He liked this recipe but I don't think I've found my go-to recipe. I felt it was a little bland, not enough cheese mixture or flavor in general. I used about half the recommended noodles and with that, it fit just fine. Looked beautiful but was soupy when cut. My biggest complaint about most vegetarian recipes is that they are bland, use weird ingredients or are complicated. My non-veggie friends would not like or use this recipe. Overall this wasn't bad but I'm still searching for my crowd-pleaser lasagna.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PieGirl

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA
Living In: Moscow, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2012
I made an off-shoot this recipe for a large gathering of people (doubled the recipe) and it was a very big hit - with people I didn't even know coming up to me to say how much they enjoyed it. This recipe can be modified based on personal preference for different veggies. I am not a fan of green bell peppers so I ommitted them and used a combination of mushrooms, broccoli,carrots,spinach and garlic for the filling. I also made home-made marinara sauce which I think makes a big difference as well. I will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2012
This is delicious and makes a TON of food. Even my 17 month old loved it! He wouldn't eat the mushrooms, but he's still in that picky eater stage.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 503) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Hearty Vegetable Lasagna

Layers of flavors make this 5-star lasagna a hearty hit.

Cheesy Vegetable Lasagna

See how to make a cheesy, saucy vegetarian lasagna that’s loaded with veggies.

Fresh Herb & Vegetable Chicken Lasagna

See how to make a prize-winning veggie, chicken, and herb lasagna.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States