Hearty Vegan Slow-Cooker Chili Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2011
DAIYA Vegan cheese is the way to go, it actually melts so you can have Nacho's! I added some Lime Juice, used Mexican style canned tomatoes and threw in some Jalapeno's, found I didn't need the broth. This is a great make ahead and freeze in portions dish, especially to take into the office and have for lunch and looks wonderful with all the different colours. I served it over brown rice and it's really filling. Thanks Grete!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carol Downes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Margate, Kent, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2011
This is great - was easy to make and people loved it! I made it for a group and had a number of people request the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2011
This was delicious and easy! Also easy to modify. I used only green peppers (others too pricey right now). I added a small can of chopped green chiles for a little zip, and used Great Northern beans instead of garbanzo (my kids don't like garbanzo beans). I also use V8 juice instead of tomato sauce, and found that just one can of tomato paste makes it plenty thick. This will be a regular at our house! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by gadgetgal
Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2011
Total Comfort Food! Apologies to the vegans out there, but I used the recipe as a guide and made it into a pot of beef minestrone. Based on ingredients I had on hand, I subbed butternut squash for yellow; added diced celery, carrots and chopped frozen green beans; subbed two cans of kidney beans only and one 28-ounce can crushed tomatoes as the only canned tomato product used; a little cumin and a tablespoon of dried Italian herbs subbed for chili powder and oregano. One half pound of beef stew cut in small dice, and beef broth completed the soup. Just used a big soup pot and sauteed the vegetables and beef, adding everything else and simmering 2-3 hours. Even more delicious the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gadgetgal

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2011
Delicious!! 5 stars!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Galesburg, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2011
So good... All of these ingredients wouldn't fit in our slow cooker so we put it in a big pot on the stove for about 4-5 hours and let it simmer. Delicious. Everything just melts in your mouth. And the taste, you can't even tell it doesn't have meat in it. Lovely.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MTCHYG

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Montrose, Michigan, USA
Living In: Lansing, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2011
This was sent to e-mail a few weeks ago and I made it that day! the grocery store was out of the zuccini and squash, so I used parsnips and mushrooms instead and fresh spinach instead of frozen. LOVED it and am making it again today. It makes a lot, so I gave some to my parents who are not vegan, and they begged me to make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2011
This is not your traditional chili but it is a good chili nonetheless . I did not have zucchini and squash so i replaced those with diced carrots and celery.Worked out nice and replaced the tomato sauce with vegetable cocktail like one reviewer did and it was also good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Longueuil, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2011
I would give this 5 stars but WHERE ON EARTH is all of that SODIUM coming from!?!? That is A LOT of sodium! How big is an actual serving? I know it SERVES 15 but is that a half cup? 3/4 cup? Also, I am bummed out that there isn't really THAT much protein in it..maybe I'll throw some tofu in there...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by andrea

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2011
Great! We aren't vegan--not even vegetarian--and it was still appreciated. Great way to make a chili in the crock pot that is hearty and really healthy. It makes a ton and was delicious for days afterwards. I only had one small can of diced tomatoes, but just added a little extra veggie broth to make up for the liquid that would have been in the canned tomatoes. We have a large crock pot, and it almost didn't all fit! For the reviewer who was worried about sodium, just check the sodium levels of your veggie broth, rinse your beans well (or use fresh and soak them overnight before), and/or omit the salt. I can't see what else would be adding so much sodium. ALSO, I didn't saute any vegetables in olive oil first. Just added all to the crock pot. Not sure if that would have made a difference, but I doubt it. Cooked 8 hours on low.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 28) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Spicy Pumpkin Chili

Pumpkin puree and pumpkin pie spice do wonders for this beef and bean chili.

Insanely Easy Vegetarian Chili

See how to make a simple chili with beans and loads of veggies.

Smokin’ Scovilles Turkey Chili

See how to make super-spicy turkey chili with kidney beans.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States