Hearty Vegan Slow-Cooker Chili Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 7, 2014
`Very good! the only reason I did not give it five stars is because, like whyaduck said, too much tomato paste! But, thanks Grete!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2014
Loved this chili!! I read some of the reviews and made some changes based on those i.e. added 6 cups of water. Make sure that you have a large enough vessel, I used a large stew pot because I have a human size crock pot =) I also took the time to clean out a few items from the fridge by adding kale and edamame - delish!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2013
I followed advice from others and cut the chili powder down to 2TBSP- but felt it was lacking something- I'll try with 3 TBSP, or cut the cumin next time. I also only used 1 can each of paste and sauce. I used frozen peppers (red, yellow, green) from Trader Joe's which were perfect! Got good reviews from the potluck I took it to. Definitely a keeper for getting lots of veggies in and would definitely be good with meat too ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2013
Really easy - healthy ....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Elena Merchand

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Photo by Scott M.
Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2013
This just barely fit in my 5 quart slow cooker without any extra liquid per step 2 (I didn't need the extra sauce or broth). If your slow cooker is smaller, be prepared to cut back. Good flavors.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Scott M.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Elburn, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2013
This recipe is amazing!!! I make it all the time and never get tired of it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2012
It was Great. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2012
Wonderful chili recipe, very flavorful, and imho you definitely won't miss the meat! I have a 6-qt. crockpot, and as other reviewers stated, the ingredients filled it to the brim. Just a few minor modifications...I used a 16 oz. pkg. of frozen spinach, same size of frozen corn, only one onion, 3 tsps. jarred minced garlic, and added 2 cups cut-up fresh green beans I had on hand. As suggested by other reviewers, I skipped the sauteeing step and added the peppers, onions and garlic directly into the pot, and used canned Mexican-style tomatoes with green chilies. I also cut way back on the chili powder; I used 2 Tbsp., and that to me was the perfect amount, considering it also calls for a Tbsp. of cumin, which is similar to chili powder. Any more would have been too overpowering. The one ingredient I added that veered me off the vegan path was a cup of homemade chicken broth I had in the freezer, in lieu of vegetable broth. In all, the chili is excellent, and it came out perfect...not too thick OR thin. I cooked it about 6-1/2 hours total. It made plenty of leftovers, and right now I am enjoying a bowl of it for lunch as I type this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cathie H.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pasco, Washington, USA
Living In: Richland, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2012
Excellent! I didn't add vegetable broth because I didn't have any, but it didn't seem necessary. Love this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2012
LOVE this! I make it for a dinner and then have it for a few lunches, and freeze some for future lunches.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 28) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Spicy Pumpkin Chili

Pumpkin puree and pumpkin pie spice do wonders for this beef and bean chili.

Insanely Easy Vegetarian Chili

See how to make a simple chili with beans and loads of veggies.

Smokin’ Scovilles Turkey Chili

See how to make super-spicy turkey chili with kidney beans.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States