Hearty Turkey Stew with Vegetables Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2010
I made this basically according to the recipe, with just a few changes: Added an extra carrot and two extra potatoes Used some minced garlic (about a tbsp), some basil (about 1 tsp) and a sprinkle of crushed red chilies Substituted leftover roast turkey for raw turkey breast (I think the trick to not having it taste dried out is to use thick pieces of white meat, and to also use some dark meat). The stew turned out wonderfully, everyone who tried it said it was the best turkey stew they'd ever had. Even my picky 4 year old daughter and 1 year old son ate it up! I will definitely make this again and again with our leftover turkey.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sussex, New Brunswick, Canada
Living In: Lethbridge, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2010
This is a healthy and wonderfully tasty soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lerie

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Owen Sound, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2010
I made this with no changes other than 3x the amounts and using broth instead of stock. It was the BEST stew/soup I have ever made/eaten!! All of my nine kids ate multiple bowls and my husband and I loved it. Such great flavor and so filling!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KASEYNBOYS

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sycamore, Illinois, USA
Living In: Bellefontaine, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2010
amazing. great use of turkey; something different than just chicken soup. I added a mix of sweet potatoes (white kind), parsnips and regular white potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alex

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bethlehem, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2010
excellent! Used left-over turkey - even better! will be making it next with the left-over rosemary turkey from this site.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2010
This was an excellent use for left over holiday turkey! This stew hit the spot during our rare very cold weather spurt here in New Orleans. I made it my own by using: 1 onion, 1/2 of a large bell pepper and a teaspoon of chopped garlic. My family loved it. This will be my go to left over meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sandy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Gretna, Louisiana, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2010
This was very good. I used split chicken breasts to make stock, then shredded the meat for the stew. I also added some fresh thyme I had on hand, which went well with everything. Left out bell pepper since the hubby dislikes it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2010
I have used this recipe countless times and it works out every time! I have tried it with chicken and it doesn't have the same flavour so since then, I've only used turkey. I've used both leftover turkey and fresh turkey breast and again, both work. I leave out the green pepper as I find it's flavour overpowers the others. It's so quick and easy to make - great as an evening meal and leftover! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2009
Made this today. Hubby likes hearty soups so had to adjust some by adding more tators & turkey plus salt & pepper. I left the bell pepper out. It was bland but good for a change & a nice change from turkey sandwiches. (My neighbor really liked it.) Didn't knock any socks off but everyone ate it. After we ate the first batch I added some cooked frozen peas to it & a little left over giblet gravy & served over mashed potatoes & with garlic toast to change up the leftovers & man oh man was that good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2009
This was fabulous! Hubby and 3 year old devoured this. find it hard to get good turkey recipes but this was a massive hit . Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 119) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Delightful Summer Parties
Delightful Summer Parties

All the little bites, cocktails, casual dishes, and desserts you want for your next get-together.

Banana Bread
Banana Bread

Bake those overripe bananas into a delicious, easy loaf of quick bread.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Beef Stew with Roasted Winter Vegetables

This hearty stew is fresh and flavorful, and makes a great comfort-food meal.

How to Make Turkey Soup

Turn leftover turkey into hearty, healthy, delicious soup.

Dad’s Leftover Turkey Pot Pie

See how to make a simple savory pot pie with veggies and leftover turkey meat.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States