Hearty Turkey Stew with Vegetables Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: May 23, 2006
This was pretty good. My leftover turkey was tough, but that was probably my fault. I think next time I might use fresh rather than left over. But the over all taste was yummy. Like someone else mentioned, I added oregano along with the marjoram and I liked that flavor. Definitely a recipe you can play around with.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Duncan, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2006
This stew is just what I was looking for! Tastes like Mom's. I'll be using it lots!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PULLEYHEATHER

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fort Collins, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2006
I have made this a few times now and my family loves it! It is also a winner with me because it is so easy to make. I have made it with both turkey and chicken, and have to admit the turkey is a little better. But I love being able to just drop the raw meat into the stew, no other prep. I also may try adding some peas. i have a large family, so I double this a use a few extra potatoes. It is still quick, easy and a healthy dinner to put on the table. I like how it gives you that wonderful feeling of a filling stew on a cold night, but it is also low fat and healthy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Vacaville, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2006
I'm a vegetarian and was looking for a good hearty root vegetable stew.....perfect!!!! I simply replaced the chicken stock with veggie stock and the turkey with tofu. I've also added turnip!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2006
Really easy and yummy recipe. We loved it except for the peppers (and we love bell peppers). It just didn't fit with the recipe. Great for leftover turkey. I will make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fruita, Colorado, USA
Living In: Casper, Wyoming, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2006
This is a great base recipe. It was a little bland for my taste so I added my favorite seasonings (garlic seasoning, seasoned salt, more pepper, etc.). I used leftover dark meat and added mushrooms. There was not enough liquid to cover everything so I threw in a beer and a little water. The stew turned out fantastic. This is a great way to use up that leftover turkey. Mmmmmmmm.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
68 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2006
I have made this stew several times and we love it - with a few modifications. I substitute vegetable oil for the butter, butternut squash for the potatoes, 1 tsp. each of basil and parsley instead of marjorim, and use 4 cups of chicken broth instead of 2. I also add 1 cup chopped swiss chard (or escarole) at the end instead of the green pepper. Yummy !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2005
This was gold! I used up my leftover Christmas turkey, and I threw in a few more potatoes than called for because I had less bird than I thought. I upped the amount of stock a little for the potatoes to soak up. Also omitted the green pepper which I didn't have. Other than that, did as I was told with great, stick-to-your-ribs results! This is a keeper. Might even cheat and try it with chicken. This turned out exactly as I hoped in my head... I love it when that happens!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
69 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2005
I made this stew with leftover dark turkey meat and it was great. I forgot to add the green pepper and added some pepper. I will be making this stew again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Summerland, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2005
Easy and really good! I had a whole turkey breast that I didn't end up cooking on Thanskgiving, so I put it in the crockpot for 6 hours on high with onion, celery and 1.5 cups of chicken broth. After it was cooked, we shredded it and used the shredded meat to make the stew. I forgot to add the green pepper, but I will try that next time. We also added basil, oregano and parsley. We will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 116) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Beef Stew with Roasted Winter Vegetables

This hearty stew is fresh and flavorful, and makes a great comfort-food meal.

How to Make Turkey Soup

Turn leftover turkey into hearty, healthy, delicious soup.

Dad’s Leftover Turkey Pot Pie

See how to make a simple savory pot pie with veggies and leftover turkey meat.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States