Hearty Turkey Stew with Vegetables Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Photo by Dianne
Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2009
This stew is good. I used leftover Rosemary Roasted Turkey from thanksgiving. I added an extra cup of chicken stock and used a red bell pepper instead of green. I agree that it is missing something, so I added 1 tsp. poultry seasoning, and that helped. I would recommend even more seasoning - just add what you like!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dianne

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Iowa City, Iowa, USA
Living In: St. Cloud, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2009
I needed to find something quick to make with leftover turkey from Thanksgiving and saw this recipe. I changed it up a bit, used olive oil instead of butter, no celery, and added Adobo (Spanish seasoning) to give it more flavor. I also added oregano like another reviewer. Mine was dry at first so I added some water.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Richmond Hill, New York, USA
Living In: Orlando, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2009
This stew was okay. My husband loved it, but my daughter and I both thought it was a little bland. The "idea" of this stew is good, but it definitely needs additional seasoning. I will use this recipe again - as a building block.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2009
This was a big hit! So simple and very tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lynn

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2009
Works like a charm every time. Soups are always a little bit of work, but this one was minimal and using raw turkey really makes it fabulous. A winter staple.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Forestville, California, USA
Living In: Santiago, Santiago Metropolitan Region, Chile

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2009
Didn't really like this for all the work involved. Won't make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by liliy60

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2009
Very tasty. Only thing I substituted was cumin instead of marjoram since I didn't have it. I also added corn starch to thicken. And since it just didn't look like stew to me I took the potato masher to it a bit after it was all cooked. I think that added to the taste. I'd make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2009
This dish was really good. The sauce/broth was so yummy and flavorful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Katie

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2009
It's fresh, flavorful and delicious. This stew tastes like something you've been simmering all day, but you can actually make after a full day at work. My family was quite pleased with this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amy F.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Photo by pomplemousse
Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2008
Very nice. Bf and I both really like it. I had to make a few subs, bc I just didn't have the ingredients and I didn't want to go back to the store. I eliminated the carrots entirely, subbed oregano and some thyme for the marjoram, and green beans for the pepper. We had leftover dark meat turkey, so I used that instead of turkey legs. I didn't peel the potatoes--one of my habits, due to pure laziness and interest in keeping the soup just a little bit more nutritious. I did add some salt and pepper--just seemed to need a bit more seasoning to me. Very nice meal for a cold winter's day. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pomplemousse

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pendleton, Oregon, USA
Living In: Dumfries, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 119) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Homemade Pancakes Are So Easy
Easy Homemade Pancakes

Homemade pancakes are so easy to make, and nothing tastes better.

Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend
Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend

Try one of our dozens of ways to make delicious fresh guacamole.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Beef Stew with Roasted Winter Vegetables

This hearty stew is fresh and flavorful, and makes a great comfort-food meal.

How to Make Turkey Soup

Turn leftover turkey into hearty, healthy, delicious soup.

Dad’s Leftover Turkey Pot Pie

See how to make a simple savory pot pie with veggies and leftover turkey meat.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States