Hearty Turkey Stew with Vegetables Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2010
very good. I added 1tsp celery salt, more flour for a thicker stew and some peas, corn and green beans the last 10 minutes of cooking. I don't like bell peppers, so I omitted them. This makes a hearty stew perfect for leftover Thanksgiving turkey!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nurse kim

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Murrieta, California, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2010
This soup was really good. I used left over turkey from Thanksgiving. I added some vegetables that I had on hand, broccoli & cabbage. Also 1 tbsp. poultry seasoning, garlic, salt, pepper & 1 tsp. basil. Quick and easy, all you need is cornbread or spicy crackers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2010
This is my all-time favorite soup!! For a heartier flavor, I subbed whole wheat flour for the all-purpose flour. I left the green bell out the first time I made it, simply because I didn't have it on hand. I think it is much better without!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by icook

Cooking Level: Expert

Photo by mominml
Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2010
Nice alternative to the usual beef stew. Perfect for this time of year. Would be a great way to use up leftover turkey. I followed the recipe, but added a little corn and cooked this in my slow cooker on low for about hours. This was a tasty, healthy, hearty dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mominml

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA
Living In: Moses Lake, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2010
I made this basically according to the recipe, with just a few changes: Added an extra carrot and two extra potatoes Used some minced garlic (about a tbsp), some basil (about 1 tsp) and a sprinkle of crushed red chilies Substituted leftover roast turkey for raw turkey breast (I think the trick to not having it taste dried out is to use thick pieces of white meat, and to also use some dark meat). The stew turned out wonderfully, everyone who tried it said it was the best turkey stew they'd ever had. Even my picky 4 year old daughter and 1 year old son ate it up! I will definitely make this again and again with our leftover turkey.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sussex, New Brunswick, Canada
Living In: Lethbridge, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2010
This is a healthy and wonderfully tasty soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lerie

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Owen Sound, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2010
I made this with no changes other than 3x the amounts and using broth instead of stock. It was the BEST stew/soup I have ever made/eaten!! All of my nine kids ate multiple bowls and my husband and I loved it. Such great flavor and so filling!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KASEYNBOYS

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sycamore, Illinois, USA
Living In: Bellefontaine, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2010
amazing. great use of turkey; something different than just chicken soup. I added a mix of sweet potatoes (white kind), parsnips and regular white potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alex

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bethlehem, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2010
excellent! Used left-over turkey - even better! will be making it next with the left-over rosemary turkey from this site.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2010
This was an excellent use for left over holiday turkey! This stew hit the spot during our rare very cold weather spurt here in New Orleans. I made it my own by using: 1 onion, 1/2 of a large bell pepper and a teaspoon of chopped garlic. My family loved it. This will be my go to left over meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sandy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Gretna, Louisiana, USA

Displaying results 51-60 (of 113) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Beef Stew with Roasted Winter Vegetables

This hearty stew is fresh and flavorful, and makes a great comfort-food meal.

How to Make Turkey Chili

Make easy, hearty turkey chili with your leftover Thanksgiving turkey.

How to Cook a Turkey

See an easy, no-fail method to roast a juicy, golden-brown bird every time.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States