Hearty Turkey Stew with Vegetables Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2011
Awesome 'stick to the ribs' kinda meal! Use corn starch or rice flour for a Gluten-free alternative!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ryan's Mom

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Hopatcong, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Brooklyn, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2011
My grocery store didn't have boneless turkey breast, so bought boneless skinless chicken, and just pretty much doubled everything! The only thing I did do different was to omit the green pepper - I just thought it was an odd ingredient to throw in! I might add that I put much more marjoram in the stew than it called for - 1/4 tsp based on the stew's original proportions sounded way too little - glad I decided to follow my instincts - It was absolutely delicious!!! I will look forward to try this with leftover turkey after Thanksgiving!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mariefnp1

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lawrence, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Salem, New Hampshire, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2011
I added: 6 cloves of garlic to saute with the onions and carrots; ground sage, black pepper and bay leaves instead of marjoram. I didn't add: green peppers or celery. It was delicious! Hearty soup served with cornbread for a winter night's treat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2011
I've made this gem of a recipe a handful of times since discovering it and I must confess....I've always made this with chicken! No matter, as it's a fabulous recipe, which holds up well to changes. I generally add another cup or two of chicken stock (my favorite is the Better Than Boullion) and omit the marjoram (never have any on hand), but I do add a few shakes of dried parsley to the pot. My family likes garlic, so I generally add either fresh, minced garlic or garlic powder to taste. I leave out the bell pepper as well....I love them, but somehow it doesn't seem like it fits in this recipe. However, per another reviewer's suggestion, perhaps I'll try the red pepper the next time. Also, I throw my cubed chicken in raw and only simmer 15-20 minutes, tops. 30 minutes would turn the chicken to rubber and the potatoes to mush! I really love the simplicity of this recipe. It's my "go-to" when someone in my family is sick....quite the comfort food. I promise I'll try the turkey eventually - it's just so good with the chicken! Thanks for this delicious and healthy submission.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shannon

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Omaha, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Aurora, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2011
Added peas and carrots and didn't use green peppers. Doubled recipe. Used leftover turkey.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MICHK35

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Cambridge, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2011
Followed exactly, this was awesome! It is one of those recipes that gets better the next day! Also...tastes good with chicken too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2011
This was really, really tasty. The only deviation from the recipe was that I slightly cooked the raw turkey breast with the vegetables prior to adding the broth and I didn't have green peppers, so added peas. We didn't expect this to taste so delicious because it's so simple - but, it was exceptionally good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2011
This was a very nice stew. The bell pepper adds a very nice flavor. My toddlers gobbled it up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2011
Yummy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2011
I make a huge turkey just so I can make this after thanksgiving! I also like to use of my left over gravy on this recipe by adding it to the cold broth before heating. Adds some good flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nicole

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 117) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Beef Stew with Roasted Winter Vegetables

This hearty stew is fresh and flavorful, and makes a great comfort-food meal.

How to Make Turkey Soup

Turn leftover turkey into hearty, healthy, delicious soup.

Dad’s Leftover Turkey Pot Pie

See how to make a simple savory pot pie with veggies and leftover turkey meat.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States